Sweet and Salty Caramel Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Great texture for dipping apples! Make sure to get the waxy coating off your apples and chill them before dipping to help the caramel stick and cool quickly. The salt is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
This is soooo much better rolled in pretzel pieces than just plain coarse salt. The pretzels paired with the chocolate and caramel made these wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
the pic above does not look that way for real. OMG and LOL i think i'll stick with regular cararmel apples. no complications
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
These were great. I made them for a Halloween party and used a melon baller/ice cream scoop to make smaller apples. Only problem was that caramel slid off and pooled around the bottom. Followed directions completely. They looked ugly but tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I normally love salty sweet combo's but this one didn't do it for me. I found the tart/salty/sweet combo to be strange in this case.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
We used this recipe and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Good caramel apples but I suggest much less salt on the ingredients list. All you need is a couple pieces per apple. I wasn't thinking and made the mistake of using dark chocolate chips and they just don't work with the sweet, salty, and tart of the apples. I bet these are great with semi-sweet chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrookeMT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Hands down, most DELICIOUS way to eat a caramel apple. The combo of sweet, crunchy, tart, salty is to die for. We prefer to omit the chocolate. You really just need to strategically place a few large grains of the salt on the caramel. That is A LOT of salt on the apples that are pictured. Fleur de sel is always a treat, if you have it. And always use a tart variety apple, NEVER Red Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Great combo with the salt and the sweet sugary caramel. These are different from the usual and looked pretty too. Only you have to work fast because the caramel hardens and the salt wouldn't stick. I dipped all apples first then did the salt, and the chocolate last, but like I said the salt didn't stick and I kind of had to press the pieces into the caramel. These are even better tasting than the plain caramel apples. If you like the contrast of sweet/salty you'll like these. Thanks for the great idea!!! I had so much fun making these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Make-it-Yours Sweet and Salty Bark

See how to make bark candy topped with sweet and salty snacks.

Sweet Pineapple Saute

Learn how to make this delicious, sweet summer-time dessert topped with cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States