Sweet and Oh So Spicy Kielbasa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Delicious, quick and easy dinner. I had fresh pineapple, so I used that in place of the canned. Otherwise, I followed the stovetop instructions and it thickened up nicely. Served this over sticky rice and added a simple green salad. We enjoyed a nice dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
FAB-U-LOUS! I browned the sausage on the stove first, cut the cherries in half and caramelized the pineapple in brown sugar. I added on large clove of garlic, minced and one small onion, sliced. Only put in 1 tsp of red pepper and it was perfect and still very much heat. I put everything in the crock pot on low all day. Serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I made a half batch as a trial run before a holiday pot luck figuring I'd add it to the final if I liked it. I kept tasting, and tasting, and before I knew it, it was gone! The second batch, I used half ketchup and half bbq sauce and thought that was less cloying. Also used fresh pineapple chunks instead of canned. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
As is the recipe is a 4-4.5/5 but with your own tweaks it could definitely be a 5/5! As far as meat appetizers are concerned, this is a go to recipe for me - much better than cocktail meatballs. My recommendation is to reduce the amount of sauce, make the day before and let simmer in a crockpot for a few hours before serving. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessicaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Took it to work & very few liked or even tried it. My guess was the texture & knowing the odd combo of ingredients. If the cherries & pineapple had been chopped fine, I think it would've been better accepted as the flavor was ok. Those of us that did try it liked the meat but thought the whole cherries were strange. I'm still eating the leftovers two days later and next time I will go back to my old hot weenie recipie that they all love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Portage, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
Only problem with this recipe? Not enough! Quite the hit at a recent potluck. I toned down the heat just a little for that, but as is, this is excellent. Second time I made it, I didn't have maraschino's or grape jelly, but I did have cherry jelly and chopped up a handful of fresh cherries. (Cmon. I live in Washington. People look at you suspiciously if you buy maraschino's...) Just as savory sweet. Also very good with meatballs, and there's actually enough sauce to handle the 2 pounds of Kielbasa and a couple dozen meatballs as an appy. With just the kielbasa, this would be a great meal over rice with a fresh salad on the side. Thanks, abrusky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
This recipe was such a big hit with my family. I made it last night and they LOVED IT! Now the only thing I did that was a little different was that I used about a 1/4 cup of brown sugar and caramelized the pineapple, then added the BBQ and other ingredients to the pineapple, simmered sauce and then added it to the Kielbasa that I had started to cook in a larger frying pan.... Was sweet yet the after effects you could feel the Heat, served over white rice and was a homerun with family, Thank You for the Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheHutch82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornell, New York, USA
Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Make this one again. Hit at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This was awesome and ive made several times. Try slicing into 1/4 inch sections and then broiling till a little crispy....yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Excellent! My MIL taught me 20 years ago to make a very basic version of this (just kielbasa and bbq sauce and some tabasco) which I have wowed crowds with in the past. This recipe takes a good thing and makes it even better. Bringing it to work tomorrow for a pot luck. Thank you abrusky, for an easy, spicy, hearty delight of a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaNJ

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Sweet, Salty, Spicy Party Nuts

See how to make homemade gourmet spiced party nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States