Sweet and Mild Cooked Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I did my different...I made the salsa with a bit more of a kick, and little less sweet. It turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
My search for a homemade salsa is finally over! I have recently started cooking more, and my very first attempt at this salsa was fabulous! I read the comments before hand, and knew I didn't want any sugar in mine, so I omitted it completely. Instead of chiles I used canned jalapenos which made it very warm, but not unbearable. I put in exact amounts of the seasonings, but then added more garlic and herbs until the taste was perfect for me. My husband and coworkers LOVED it! I made it for the 2nd time yesterday, and used 4 small fresh jalapeno peppers, 1 green pepper, and 2 banana peppers, instead of the chiles. It tastes wonderful! Not as hot as the first batch but so tastey. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Very good. I used store bought Romas and if you like cilantro, I do, add it after the salsa cools. It's better added after cooking IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Great recipe - a helpful tip for freezing fresh tomatoes. Just put them whole in plastic bags and freeze. To peel, put desired number of tomatoes in hot water for a few seconds. You can then just rub off the peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Not too bad!! I make one similar except no vinegar, no coriander and I add a chopped mango to mine. I use mild chilies, regular sugar (start with 1 Tbsp & add more if needed) and also add some cilantro. I cook mine in the crock pot on low 6-8 hours, stirring every hour. I then can it in pint mason jars. Very yummy!! I make about 1 1/2 times this much in my 6 qt. crock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
We LOVED this. If I could give it more than 5 stars I would! I didn't have a can of peppers, so I chopped up a yellow sweet pepper and put that in with the rest of it. Hands down, best salsa EVER!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChillyBaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
omitted the hot sauce all together. 1/2 recipe, but used full can of chillies. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Omitted the sugar as everyone else suggested. Did not peel tomatoes, and they made the salsa heartier. Added cilantro. Ended up only cooking it for 1 hour and 7 minutes over medium low temp as the liquid evaporated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
My search for a homemade salsa is finally over! I have recently started cooking more, and my very first attempt at this salsa was fabulous! I read the comments before hand, and knew I didn't want any sugar in mine, so I omitted it completely. Instead of chiles I used canned jalapenos which made it very warm, but not unbearable. I put in exact amounts of the seasonings, but then added more garlic and herbs until the taste was perfect for me. My husband and coworkers LOVED it! I made it for the 2nd time yesterday, and used 4 small fresh jalapeno peppers, 1 green pepper, and 2 banana peppers, instead of the chiles. It tastes wonderful! Not as hot as the first batch but so tastey. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was awesome! I cut the sugar in half, used canned tomatoes (it's winter in the midwest), 1 tablespoon of vinegar and only cooked it for 30 minutes. Pulsed it with a soup blender. I will definitely try it with fresh tomatoes this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States