Sweet and Mild Cooked Tomato Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
My search for a homemade salsa is finally over! I have recently started cooking more, and my very first attempt at this salsa was fabulous! I read the comments before hand, and knew I didn't want any sugar in mine, so I omitted it completely. Instead of chiles I used canned jalapenos which made it very warm, but not unbearable. I put in exact amounts of the seasonings, but then added more garlic and herbs until the taste was perfect for me. My husband and coworkers LOVED it! I made it for the 2nd time yesterday, and used 4 small fresh jalapeno peppers, 1 green pepper, and 2 banana peppers, instead of the chiles. It tastes wonderful! Not as hot as the first batch but so tastey. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Very good. I used store bought Romas and if you like cilantro, I do, add it after the salsa cools. It's better added after cooking IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Great recipe - a helpful tip for freezing fresh tomatoes. Just put them whole in plastic bags and freeze. To peel, put desired number of tomatoes in hot water for a few seconds. You can then just rub off the peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Not too bad!! I make one similar except no vinegar, no coriander and I add a chopped mango to mine. I use mild chilies, regular sugar (start with 1 Tbsp & add more if needed) and also add some cilantro. I cook mine in the crock pot on low 6-8 hours, stirring every hour. I then can it in pint mason jars. Very yummy!! I make about 1 1/2 times this much in my 6 qt. crock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
We LOVED this. If I could give it more than 5 stars I would! I didn't have a can of peppers, so I chopped up a yellow sweet pepper and put that in with the rest of it. Hands down, best salsa EVER!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChillyBaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
omitted the hot sauce all together. 1/2 recipe, but used full can of chillies. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Omitted the sugar as everyone else suggested. Did not peel tomatoes, and they made the salsa heartier. Added cilantro. Ended up only cooking it for 1 hour and 7 minutes over medium low temp as the liquid evaporated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly Urbanski Johnson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
My search for a homemade salsa is finally over! I have recently started cooking more, and my very first attempt at this salsa was fabulous! I read the comments before hand, and knew I didn't want any sugar in mine, so I omitted it completely. Instead of chiles I used canned jalapenos which made it very warm, but not unbearable. I put in exact amounts of the seasonings, but then added more garlic and herbs until the taste was perfect for me. My husband and coworkers LOVED it! I made it for the 2nd time yesterday, and used 4 small fresh jalapeno peppers, 1 green pepper, and 2 banana peppers, instead of the chiles. It tastes wonderful! Not as hot as the first batch but so tastey. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
This was awesome! I cut the sugar in half, used canned tomatoes (it's winter in the midwest), 1 tablespoon of vinegar and only cooked it for 30 minutes. Pulsed it with a soup blender. I will definitely try it with fresh tomatoes this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
My family of four likes this with breakfast burrito. Later this afternoon, we will have this for snack with tortilla chips. Fresh, resfreshing, sweet taste salsa. YUM. I don't have oregano so I substitututed with a little basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karinab71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bacoor, Cavite, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Tomato Salsa

This authentic salsa is bursting with fresh tomatoes, peppers, onions, and lime.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Cinco de Mayo Salsa Cruda

See Chef Juan’s secret recipe for Cinco de Mayo-worthy homemade salsa cruda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States