Sweet and Hot Apple Slow Cooker Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
DO NOT LEAVE THE CHIPOTLE PEPPERS OUT! The flavor of the smokey Adobo Sauce is what makes this recipe great. It will not be achieved by red pepper flakes! In fact, if I were you, I would pour a little Adobo Sauce straight in the gravy. Here are my thoughts: Do it for 6 to 8 hours on low heat. Doing it the quick way makes it slightly too tough. Add the apple pie filling just before it's done. Like maybe an hour or less - other wise they dissolve (though the sweet flavor is amazing). When I make this again, I'm going to put fresh apple chunks in as well (from the beginning). My husband says this is the best thing I've ever made. If you have some super-sensitivity to heat, stay away. But if you enjoy flavor, dig in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Very easy and lots of delicious flavors going on. Just take the seeds out of the chipotles if they are too hot for you. I had alot of the veggies and stuff still left, I just pureed it into a yummy sweet potato soup, that I topped with parmasean cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBadSeed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Athol, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Pork was perfect and tender. Husband made it though and he is an x chef so Im not sure if he doctored the recipe. It was devine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This was fabulous - very tasty. The meat was extremely tender. I did everything as-is, but I left out the peppers - 'cause of my little kids. My 16 yo daughter ate a second helping later for dessert :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This turned out great! I did only put in 1 chipotle pepper and that was plenty of heat. Left it sit all day in the crock and the meat just fell apart. I didn't end up thickening the juices but it was still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
My family loved this recipes. I have 7 growing boys so I had to add extra sweet potates and added 5 extra apples and cooked it on slow for 8 hours. The gravy was the best part and it turned out perfect! Will defintely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This was really tasty. I made it as stated except I added 10-15 baby carrots, and one peeled, chopped apple. I cooked it on low for 8 hours and the meat was juicy, tender and flavorful. I really enjoyed the spicy smokiness and will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I cooked this tonight and it was a big hit with the family. Instead of the canned apple pie filling, I used three large fresh fuji apples, sliced and coated with a bit of cinnamon and raw sugar. I removed the seeds from the peppers to tone it down a bit so it wouldn't be too hot for my 2 year old, but I think I will leave them next time because it wasn't spicy at all. Even without the bit of spice I was hoping for, it still turned out delicious and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This dish was delish! And the ease of it really made it a winner. Both my husband and I agreed that it wasn't spicy enough, and I used three peppers instead of two. I halved the potatoes and left the peel on, and added them the last two hours of cooking and they came out perfect. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Yummy. I did substitute Fuji Apples, topped with 1 cup of applesauce, 2 tblsp brown sugar and cinnamon instead of using the pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States