Sweet and Hot Apple Slow Cooker Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I made this last night. Liked it and will serve it again. No Pork Shoulder at the store, so I used a Pork Loin Roast. Things I would do differently: ONE chipotle pepper is more then enough!! I used two and even scooped out 98% of the seeds and there was still a lot of HEAT!! I might up the salt to a tsp as well. I also substituted regular potatoes for the sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 911boxer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
fantastic was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
It is the best Pork Roast EVER! The flavor is perfect and after the main dinner I made it into a pulled pork dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This was an incredible slow cooker recipe! I skipped the pie filling and used fresh apples seasoned with sugar and cinnamon, as suggested by other reviewers. It will make a perfect fall/winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: O Fallon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I took the advice of other reviewers and took the seeds out of the peppers. I also used white potatoes since my family won't eat sweet potatoes. Very good flavor and everyone gobbled it up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This is very spicy!!! Even my husband, who loves spicy food, said to cut down on the pepper next time. I had used 2 peppers and about a tsp. of the sauce. I didn't add the apple pie filling until about an hour before it was done as others suggested. I had sliced the sweet potatoes, but I wish I would have just quartered them or cut in half, because they turned to mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Very spicy. I loved it! I will definitely make it again. Used the low heat for 8 hours. Used fresh, chopped apples at the start. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Very easy and lots of delicious flavors going on. Just take the seeds out of the chipotles if they are too hot for you. I had alot of the veggies and stuff still left, I just pureed it into a yummy sweet potato soup, that I topped with parmasean cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBadSeed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Athol, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Prepared according to the directions, this was good enough to try again. It was only a little spicy; nobody at the table found it at all objectionable heat-wise. Next time I'll try putting the veggies in the crockpot first and use chicken broth instead of water to thicken the gravy which needed a little more flavor. I'll also try using fresh apples with sugar & maybe some cinnamon as others have mentioned. Pork was very tender, cooked on low heat for 7 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Yummy. I did substitute Fuji Apples, topped with 1 cup of applesauce, 2 tblsp brown sugar and cinnamon instead of using the pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States