Sweet and Hot Apple Slow Cooker Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Wow! This recipe was delicious! I,of course, tweaked it a bit to ingredients I had on hand, and halved the recipe to fit in my 1 quart slow cooker. I used 1 lb boneless pork loin chops and instead of the sweet potato(which I didn't have), I threw in some left over mashed sweet potato and a fresh apple cut up with a sprinkle of cinnamon on top instead of the canned apple. Cooked on low 6 hours. Definitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This was good, but not my favorite thing. My husband and kids LOVED it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b.stebick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Sorry but I followed the recipe to a "T" and all I can say is... It was icky. What a waste of a beautiful pork roast and sweet potatoes. It's the apple pie filling it gives it a queer taste. A taste that is just awful. I tried doctoring it up afterward but there is nothing on this earth that can help this. It was a very stomach churning, taste with the chipotle peppers as well. Sorry but will never make this again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This was a great recipe but I changed a lot... I couldn't find chipotle peppers so instead I dumped half a jar of salsa on top of the pork. Didn't have apple pie filling so I just cut up some apples, mixed with brown sugar and cinnamon and dumped on top. I loved it this way! Not too spicy and a great different recipe than plain old crock pot pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
The chipotle chile peppers saved this dish, imo... otherwise, I think this is too sweet, even though I had used fresh apples instead of the apple pie filling and 3 chipotle peppers instead of two,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah.Dreier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonne Terre, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I would make this again, the pork is succulent, it's an easy recipe, the sweet potatoes are very tender and the sauce really doesn't need thickening. It's lightly spiced from the chipotle, but it is missing something. A little more salt and pepper helped, some cinnamon...still not quite right. I'll figure out what it is the next time I make it! I would recommend not adding the apples until about half way through the cooking time so they keep their shape a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
I did not care for this & my 11 year old & husband were not impressed either. Too sweet for me. I was expecting smokey & spicy like the description said, but I guess with the apple pie filling & sweet potatoes & the name of the recipe, I should have known it was going to be sweet. Several reviewers said two peppers were too much. Not in my opinon. Still too sweet. I cubed the potatoes bigger hoping they wouldn't be mushy, but they were just not good either. The pork was somewhat dry around outside, but moist in the middle and the bottom. My son & I ended up using Famous Daves BBQ sauce with the pork just to eat it. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This is the BEST fall dish with the sweet potatoes and apples. I've made it in the last two years. I just omit the chile peppers, as I don't like spicy food. You end up with a sweet and hearty pork meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Wow, wow, wow! 'Nuff said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Braised Pork

See how to make a tender pork roast in the slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

See how to make quick-and-easy pork tenderloin in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States