Sweet and Gooey Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
Made these a little quicker. Did not have time to marinate so I boiled the wings in the marinade. Once they were cooked I just finished them off in the oven, using the marinade as a glaze. They became nice and gooey. Big hit at a party! Thanks, Ron
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
The sweetness for these was more of an aftertaste, because all that soy sauce was all I could taste initially. These weren't gooey either. Will not be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I doubled the ingredients in this recipe, and it made more than enough marinade for 4 lbs of wings. Marinating the wings overnight in the fridge gave them an amazing color, even before baking. I also used a baster to remove about a cup of the marinade before putting them in the oven, because I was afraid it would bubble over and make a mess. I baked them uncovered, 45 minutes, turned them, then baked another 30 minutes in a 350 oven. The chicken was fall-off-the-bone tender, and the wings were a beautiful color, and sweet and gooey as promised. Will keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
These chicken wings came out very tasty. I tripled the recipe for my family of 6 (my husband and I, and our 4 boys), and they disappeared in a flash. My only complaint is that the sauce bubbled over the sides of my pan while I had the tin foil covering it, and made a huge mess inside my oven! And it wasn't that I used a shallow baking dish either. I wonder if anyone else had this problem?? I would have given these 5 stars if it weren't for the horrific clean up work that I had to do afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
I can't believe this recipe doesn't have a full 5 star rating.. I made this over a year ago and it's been a family favorite ever since!!! it is soooo good!! I don't use the ginger root though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Great overall recipe. I made some changes to mine because I prefer a kick. Also - some reviewers said that their wings were too salty; I used low sodium soy and it turned out perfect. My changes were: 1/2 teaspoon of ground cayenne 1/2 teaspoon of chilli poweder dash of chilli flakes 1 teaspoon of chilli paste and I increased the ginger to 2 teaspoons. And even though this sounds like it is ULTRA hot - it actually isn't. It has a nice kick, but not so much that you can't eat them. My guests adored it. Also - in response to it not getting gooey - this is true, but the flavor is great nonetheless. Also, I found that if you toss the wings in the cooked sauce and let stand for a while, this does add to the gooeyness factor! Hope this helped!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ztwinn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Im sorry but these wings were waaayyy too salty! Im very surprised it got such rave reviews. The base flavor was good but the saltiness made these wings barely edible. Maybe if low sodium soy was used it wouldve been better. Im sorry but I cant recommend this. I give it 2 stars for a good baseline taste.. only if I couldve enjoyed them. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Dover Air Force Base, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
The the ginger in this recipe is great! I actually added more then called for. Loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
SWEEEEEET! My boys said they were the best wings they've ever had. I couldn't make them gooey though, darn it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
This is the third time I've made these. They are nothing short of FABULOUS! I flip them every half an hour and cook for three hours, one covered and two uncovered. The last hour, you can see the gooeyness as you are flipping them. Fall off the bone tender. Excellent recipe, my family loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Canada, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Eat Chicken Wings

See a great trick for slipping the bones from cooked chicken wings.

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States