Sweet and Gooey Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Added around 1/8 cup hot sauce. Flavor was sweet, but needed more hotness. Not very gooey. We thought it would be better if cooked in the oven until done and then throw on the grill until the outside was somewhat crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
have used this recipe for years, but I keep the sauce amounts the same and double the wings. I also marinate overnight. It does turn out sweet and gooey that way !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Delish! I added flour to the sauce to give it a rich thickness! Boy, this did the trick! Loved it - Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jordansdreammeal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I followed the directions as written. These are very good wings. They are easy to whip up. They were not sweet to me as written. I think I'll kick up the brown sugar next time. Definitely would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This recipe is way to salty not sweet or spicy enough. The ginger should have given it a bit of a kick. I cooked it exactly to the recipe's specifications and the sauce never got sticky, it just stayed really soupy and the whole meal was like a salt lick. It was just awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Very easy and very good. I had a guest over and wanted something different than just fried chicken. This was a wonderful alternative to the ordinary. I'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
These are so good we've had them twice this week. Added a bit more garlic and a dash of hot sauce. UPDATE:I've now made them twice more and both times even though I made them the same exact way there was too much sauce and it didn't thicken or get gooey at all. The only difference was that I used legs instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
WAY to much soy sauce! Won't make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Made the recipe with ground ginger, as I had no fresh - other than that, I made the marinade as called for. However ... as the oven was busy, I made this on the stovetop, and it worked out great. It was seriously gooey, as expected, and came out great. I just turned the chicken every now and then, and added the marinade a little at a time until it was all in there. Cooked until done - it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I did the same amount of soy sauce and brown sugar and 1/2 cup of ketchup... still not as gooey as I would have like but they had an excellent flavor. I also put in some sesame seeds. Good Dish, I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by srv4lvr

Displaying results 41-50 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Eat Chicken Wings

See a great trick for slipping the bones from cooked chicken wings.

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States