Sweet and Gooey Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I'll try this recipe very soon as it sounds good. Someone wrote they used the remainder of the marinade poured over rice. I would remind everyone that raw chicken, its juices and marinades as well as anything it has touched must be cooked or cleaned thoroughly. Uncooked chicken and its juices WILL make you ill. I get great ideas from this forum. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clarence Williams

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Winnetka, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Very good! I doubled the brown sugar and used half the soy sauce. Also used a low sodium soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Sanders-Beggs
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Per other peoples' reviews, instead of adding the soy sauce (which, I actually used gluten free soy sauce) and brown sugar as called for, I changed the ratio of brown sugar to soy sauce to be more like a 2:1. I also tested the sauce before adding it. My advice is definitely watch the amount of soy sauce because its SO salty! If you add more sugar than soy sauce, you get a wonderfully gooey-salty-sweet flavor that sticks with the wings. I added some sprinkles of ground ginger and more like 1 teaspoon of garlic powder. I mixed the ingredients in a bowl and lined my pan with heavy duty foil. Clean up was wicked easy and the leftovers? NONE!!! Another great gluten free recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
Too much soy sauce, not enough brown sugar. It looked like such an easy and delicious recipe that I jumped at the chance to present it to my family, though I was disappointed. Doubling the brown sugar, left it still too salty, though it seems like with some serious tweaking it could yeild a decent teriyaki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justadog79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Wonderful! My family loved these. I did add corn starch to the sauce to make it thicker and baked uncovered for the last 20 minutes or so, but other than that, I followed the recipe. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
mMmm..this was definitely ooey gooey chicken wings!! I did follow some other reviewers and used less soy sauce, more brown sugar and added ketchup. It came out soOooOooo good!! My husband loved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OolyndeoO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
NO....NO....NO....!!!!! MIX ALL IN LARGE PLASTIC BAG SUCH AS ZIP LOCK, MARINATE IN THAT AND SAVE THE GOOEY MESS IN THE PAN WHILE IN THE FRIDGE. SAVES SPACE TOO. SMOOSH IN THE BAG B/4 PLACING IN FRIDGE TO MARINATE. AND A TOUCH OF APPLE CIDER VINEGAR WON'T HURT. OTHER THAN THE MESS, I WOULD HAVE GIVEN IT 5 STARS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Washington, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I've been making chicken wings something like this for a long time. I don't add oil to the marinade. I use a 10oz. bottle of Kikkoman soy, two cups of brown sugar, garlic powder (as much or little as you want) and ginger (again, as much or as little as you like. I mix everything together in a bowl. I buy Perdue wingettes and lay them in a large foil roasting pan (like the one you'd use for a large turkey). I don't use my own pan because I did it once and the clean up still gives me the chills. This way, the foil pan is deep enough for me to baste without it going everywhere in the oven and I don't have to be careful about splashing or anything else. And it's great to be able to throw it out afterwards. Make sure you taste the marinade before you pour it over the wingettes. Just make sure you can taste both the sweet and salt and that one taste isn't overpowering over the other. The marinade should be on the thick side. It will loosen up as it gets hot. Bake at 350 from anywhere to 3 to 4 hours. The times that I've been rushed and have cooked them for only an hour or two, they've never been gooey. The longer they're in, the gooier they get. These wings have always gone over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amalia1961

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
I love this chicken!! I did double it to make it gooeyer (is that a word) LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.T. Owens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
It turned out amazing juicy and tender! Two big thumbs up :) I followed the other users' suggestions and used less soy sauce and added about 1/4 cup of ketchup to make the sauce more gooey. I also replaced vegetable oil with olive oil. I was also short on time, so I only marinated at room temperature for 2 hours, and then baked it covered at 375 F for 45 minutes, and then uncovered for 15 minutes. It turned out WONDERFULLY. Will definitely try this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Totoro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Eat Chicken Wings

See a great trick for slipping the bones from cooked chicken wings.

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States