Sweet and Gooey Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
Good but I found it neither sweet nor gooey. Too much soy sauce not enough brown sugar. Next time, I would cut the amount of soy sauce in half oto 1/4 cup, double the amount of brown sugar and then add about 1/4 cup of ketchup. The ketchup will thicken it up to add the aspired "gooeyiness".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2002
I tried this recipe for a party and it got fair reviews. I thought the taste was o.k. but the wings never really formed a glaze. They were not all that sweet either and had more of the soy sauce taste. Normally chicken wings go over big but this time I had leftovers. Sorry, I probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
I already had 3 lbs. of chicken wings in my fridge, so I decided to double this recipe - and it worked like a charm. I also substitued ground ginger instead of fresh. 1/8 tsp. ground = 1 Tbsp. fresh; I added a tiny pinch, but you'd need even less than that if you aren't doubling the recipe. The sauce never really thickened to a "gooey" consistancy, but maybe I just needed to keep it in the oven longer ... I ended up pouring the marinade over steamed white rice & serving as a side dish. Chicken turned out tender, sweet, and delicious, and the whole meal disappeared within minutes. I'd have given it a higher rating, but for the fact that you have to marinade the wings for 4+ hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I doubled the ingredients in this recipe, and it made more than enough marinade for 4 lbs of wings. Marinating the wings overnight in the fridge gave them an amazing color, even before baking. I also used a baster to remove about a cup of the marinade before putting them in the oven, because I was afraid it would bubble over and make a mess. I baked them uncovered, 45 minutes, turned them, then baked another 30 minutes in a 350 oven. The chicken was fall-off-the-bone tender, and the wings were a beautiful color, and sweet and gooey as promised. Will keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Rott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
My boyfriend and I loved these! I followed the ingredients exactly, except I didnt have 2 hours to cook them so I cooked them at 375 for 30 mins covered and 15 mins uncovered and they came out perfect! The flavor is excellent and tenderizes the meat beautifully, "fell off the bone". Will absolutely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
This was good but I reduced the time to 2 hours in the fridge.Once it was cooked I then drained the sauce, added enough pure maple syrup and cooked until gooey...about 10-15 minutes at 400(have to watch them though)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leogrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
I've been making chicken wings something like this for a long time. I don't add oil to the marinade. I use a 10oz. bottle of Kikkoman soy, two cups of brown sugar, garlic powder (as much or little as you want) and ginger (again, as much or as little as you like. I mix everything together in a bowl. I buy Perdue wingettes and lay them in a large foil roasting pan (like the one you'd use for a large turkey). I don't use my own pan because I did it once and the clean up still gives me the chills. This way, the foil pan is deep enough for me to baste without it going everywhere in the oven and I don't have to be careful about splashing or anything else. And it's great to be able to throw it out afterwards. Make sure you taste the marinade before you pour it over the wingettes. Just make sure you can taste both the sweet and salt and that one taste isn't overpowering over the other. The marinade should be on the thick side. It will loosen up as it gets hot. Bake at 350 from anywhere to 3 to 4 hours. The times that I've been rushed and have cooked them for only an hour or two, they've never been gooey. The longer they're in, the gooier they get. These wings have always gone over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amalia1961

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
Any recipe that gets my 18mth old to eat meat is AWESOME and my 4yr old loved them too. I did brown the drumettes in a little oil(which cut the cooking time in half)while I was making the marinade. And I also added about two to three tablespoons of lemon juice. But overall great recipe, will use again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
really, really, good. i had about 1/4 c. of teri. sauce left so I added that to the soy, and turned out fine. Daughter (11) did not like them at all, but oh well, just more for us. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
I made these for my daughters all day Volleyball tournament, the girls and parents all loved them. I baked them in the oven and then kept them warm all day in my crockpot for serving. I will make these again you can count on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Eat Chicken Wings

See a great trick for slipping the bones from cooked chicken wings.

Baked Chicken Wings

Yes, you can get crispy chicken wings from the oven.

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States