Sweet and Gooey Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
We loved these. The only thing I did different was I added honey mustard and a little more brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunflowersnmore

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I can't take credit for this as my friend told me about this recipe on this site, and the chicken wings are outstanding. However, I made a few adjustments. First instead of using a 1/2 a cup of soy sauce that the recipe calls for (which is too saltly), I used 1/4 cup of low sodium soy sauce. I also used 1/2 a cup of brown sugar instead of the 1/4 cup of brown that the recipe calls for. In addition to the recipe I added 1 big squirt of Heinz ketchup to the mix (about a 2 sec. squirt). The wings are great. No need to marinate for 4hrs unless you want to. I've marinated for as little as 1 1/2 hours and it was perfect. Definitely will make again, great for appetizers, superbowl parties, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Northport Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson Heights, New York, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Simply delicious, and easy to make. The only change I made to this recipe was to use 1/2 of Tamari sauce and 1/2 of soy sauce. The Tamari sauce is less salty then the soy sauce, but not as tasty, so I just do 1/2 and 1/2 whenever a recipe asks for soy sauce. The cooking time was perfect, the meat fell of the bone, but it wasn't dry at all. Just have to remember to marinate the wings at least 4 hours before cooking, can't be one of those last minute recipes, but it is sooo worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
This recipe in all honesty i would not reccommend. There is no taste and the not nearly enough brown sugar., also it is not sweet and gooey. If you have a sweet n sour recipe i'd go with that, or tweak this one with your own extras btw i'd reccommend double up the brown sugar. Thumbs down on this one for me My family also did not like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I mixed the recipe as is and taste tested the sauce. I found it to be way too salty for my liking, and lacking in the sweet department. So I added about 1/4 cup water, and 2-3 tbsp of honey. I cooked them covered for 45 mins, and uncovered for 20. Removed wings from sauce and mixed in some corn starch to thincken, added wings back into sauce and put back into the oven at 375 for 10 mins. Came out quite well. I would cut the soy sauce in half and not add water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
THANK YOU for helping me come up with a nice, sweet creative way to use my chicken wings when i can get them on sale. Everyone begs me to make chicken wings now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenys "B"

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Even though I marinated these the gooey part was only on the outside and was too gooey for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I love this style of wings. I used a little more brown sugar than required. The sticky wings are very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vwcj78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I used chk legs and thighs . Hubby and I liked very much , however not my 3 picky kids. I thought it was finger lickin' good . Sweet and sticky is a better description. Remember to line yr pan w/foil .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Yum, but it wasn't gooey or sweet. But no one cared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Eat Chicken Wings

See a great trick for slipping the bones from cooked chicken wings.

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States