Sweet and Gooey Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
These wings literally flew away at our Super Bowl party!! I made 5lbs so I tripled the recipe. I decided to marinate them overnight and the meat was LITERALLY falling off the bone. So if you don't love wings but can't stand the constant clean up of eating them, marinate them overnight and with no work from a fork, you can eat them hands free. I also used a disposable casserole because it was easier clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Made these last night for the Super Bowl. The sauce is wonderful! We actually couldn't get wings, so used drumsticks. My husband coated them in flour, salt & pepper and fried in oil just until crisped on the outside. Then put in a baking dish and poured sauce over, baked for 20 minutes, turned over and spooned sauce over and baked another 20 minutes. They were awesome! My boys LOVED them! (I didn't have fresh ginger on hand, so used 1/4 teaspoon of ground ginger).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This recipe is great on its own, but also perfect for adjusting and experimenting. I've made it at least a dozen times, and finally feel like I've perfected my own version. Definitely try it with freshly grated or minced garlic, I always add a bit of molasses and a splash of sesame oil along with some red pepper flakes. For the people who said that the soy sauce was too salty: I suggest trying a mix of low sodium soy sauce and regular soy sauce. (You might even like it with only low sodium soy sauce but I found it rather bland.) Thank you for this recipe, it has become a staple at my house and gives me warm, nostalgic feelings remembering my mother making a similar recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This is a good alternative to hot wings for people who don't like hot spicy food. Whenever I make hotwings, I make this dish also. My children love it every time I make it, it's always a hit even with my picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iron River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I used this recipe tonight. I did the exact recipe except I didn't use any ginger (not a fan) and I used chicken tenders instead of chicken wings. Marinaded then in the fridge for about 5 hours. Kept flipping them every 30 minutes. By the time it was ready to cook I cut up the chicken tenders and cooked them in a WOK and made chicken vegetable stir fry!!! CAME OUT AWESOOOOOME!!!!! LOVE THIS Recipe!!! :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Amazing!! They were perfectly sweet and gooey. I felt the need to alter the cooking process, due to the other reviews. I baked them at 400 f degrees for 45-50 minutes. I then broiled them for the next 15-20 minutes turning often, this helped the sauce coat and stick to the wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I doubled this recipe and used LOW sodium soy sauce, added about 1/4 cup of honey, used ginger powder, marinated them overnight, and they were AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Made this last night for the Super Bowl. They were very good. I did not have any ginger but was still good without it. May husband said they were amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I was looking for a wing recipe for Super Bowl and decided to try this one out. Recipe was easy to follow but this one didn't work for me and my family...too salty, not sweet or sticky enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I tryed this recipe just as the directions told me to and i though it had WAY to much soy sauce. So later I tryed it again with a little less soy sauce and the taste was still overpowering i dont really sugest this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Eat Chicken Wings

See a great trick for slipping the bones from cooked chicken wings.

Baked Chicken Wings

Yes, you can get crispy chicken wings from the oven.

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States