Sweet and Crunchy Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Loved this salad! I made it exactly as the recipe called for except for one thing. I bought a small shrimp cocktail the night before to let it thaw and added that shrimp to the salad. Excellent! Also, I used the Oriental flavoring ramen noodles. The dressing reminded me of the sesame dressing that Wendy's used to have with their Asian salad. I doubled the recipe and have enough left over for lunch the next day (minus the shrimp...lol).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandorac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
It would have been better without the noodles.Won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joan Scozzari

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MCabrera75
Reviewed: May 18, 2015
This is a great salad! I omitted the water chestnuts and added cilantro for personal preferences, but that's all I changed. The flavors are so great together! This is my new hot weather salad for lunch. One batch will last the week and it is SO filling! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
It is always great, but I doubled the cabbage and halved the sugar. There was still plenty of dressing and I love to have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Morgan, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sturgeon Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Made today for Oriental night with Dinner Club. Got awesome raves, friends took home leftovers. I only changed one thing, rice vinegar instead of white and left off nuts. This goes in my recipe box! Thank you Louise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Made it exactly like the recipe said except I didn't cook the ramen soup and everyone loved it. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
didn't care for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grangeville, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Really enjoyed this salad, I will be making it again; I did add a few extra's: bean sprouts, chopped bell pepper, chopped jalepeno (no seeds),snow peas and I used 1 chicken ramen noodle and 1 oriental ramen noodle. I am looking forward to making it for a large crowd, I know it will be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Great recipe! Sometimes I won't even soften the top ramen noodles. I add them uncooked but broken up so they are crunchy. My kids love it this way even more. Sometimes I've added fresh minced garlic - 1 or 2 cloves to the vegetable oil to spice up the salad a bit more. Sometimes I add soy sauce with the rice vinegar and a tablespoon of peanut butter to make it more of a thai type salad. So easy to vary this recipe and it's always good! You can even add chopped cooked leftover chicken and it makes a main dish. During the winter I've added sliced red and green bell pepper to make it more holiday "ish". Wow. I could go on and on. Try it! You'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Perfect side! The textures were awesome with the crunchiness of the water chestnuts, nuts, and Ramen noodles. The flavor was delightful with the treat of mandarin oranges. I was afraid it was too much sugar, but it wasn't. My family enjoys a lot of crunch, so I toasted almonds, cashews, and Ramen noodles in a skillet after marinating the slaw for a few hours. (Keep a close eye on toasting, it will burn quickly) Just before serving, I mixed in the toasted mixture. My pickiest eater even liked this salad. For leftovers the next day, we thinly sliced last night's steak, melted some cheese, scooped on some of this salad, and rolled it all into a flour tortilla. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States