Sweet and Crunchy Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
My husband was skeptical of this recipe when I made it, but now it's his favorite side dish! It is quick and easy to make. I only soak the noodles for about 5 minutes, and I used red wine vinegar instead of white wine vinegar. Will definitely make over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This is excellent. As suggested I used oriental flavored noodles and did not have white wine vinegar so I used red wine vinegar. It turned out great!!!! I did not soak the noodles - I just broke them in small chunks and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2006
Absolutely the best asian coleslaw I've ever made! No changes necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I am known in my circle of friends to try new recipes on them when we have a gathering. This salad was a definite hit!! I made a few changes - such as using olive oil instead of veggie oil and I used a large can of mandarin oranges. I only had sunflower seeds so I doubled them and left out the cashews and also did not soak the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I served this at a party and everyone loved it. I agree with several other reviewers though that the serving size is way off. I doubled the recipe and there was so much cole slaw. The recipe is probably for about 12 people as is. Everyone wanted the recipe though. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin H. Martin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I made a few adjustments. I cut the oil in half and I only soaked the noodles for 5 minutes so they would be a little less soft than cooked Raman noodles. I used apple cider vinegar because that is what I had on hand and I used olive oil to make it more health-friendly. It was delicious! My kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catie Myers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
I thought this recipe was fantastic! I made it for a church picnic and everyone loved it! Since it was hot outside it was refreshing to eat a sweet cold pasta salad! I had multiple people asking me for the recipe including the minister of my church. To anyone that makes this I suggest that you don't soak the noodles any longer than the 15 min. I did and they were just a little too soft but that was my own fault. Other than that I followed the recipe exactly and it was a huge hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
This is my favorite coleslaw recipe now! I only had oriental flavored ramen noodles so I used it instead of the chicken and I also skipped soaking the noodles and left them crunchy. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
i made this for a party we were having and mother had asked me to bring to different dishes. I went to the market to purchase the items for this salad, my local grocery store didn't have the white wine vinegar, so it some of the other similar recipes they used rice vingegar so that's what i used. I was very disappointed with this salad especially because of all the good rating it got. It just didn't even have a good flavor at all. It was too vinergary. does the white wine vinegar have a different taste that the rice vinegar. If so how, sweeter, more bitter or what? Is cooking white wine the same as white wine vinegar? Probally will not make again unless someone can answer my above questions and I can find the white wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
I didn't care for this and hubby just said it was ok. I made it for a BBQ and noone really ate it. One person was allergic to sunflower seeds so thank goodness I left those off, but still noone touched it. Very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anderson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States