Sweet and Crunchy Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
INCREDIBLY DELICIOUS. I haven't even finished eating it and I had to login to rate it because this is the most delicious salad I've ever eaten. I followed other people's suggestion to leave the noodles crunchy and used olive oil and Splenda to make it healthier. UPDATE I make this all the time now because everyone loves it. A few more helpful suggestions: I add a handful of chopped cilantro and it adds a delicious flavor to it. I've also sometimes added edamame for its wonderful source of low calorie protein. Additionally, I now have substituted the cashews for dry roasted peanuts since they're less expensive and just as delicious. I do think this salas is at its best while it's still very crunchy, so I usually don't add the dressing until I'm ready to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Very good, light and refreshing! I used the oriental noodles and it tasted great. I don't think I'd soak them next time because I think I'd like the crunch factor, but it's still good. Also, I used half the amount of Ramen noodles in order to cut down on fat & calories, and didn't miss the other package at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I made 1/2 a recipe but added the full bag of cole slaw mix. It had enough dressing and noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
I love, love, love this recipe. It works with regular white vinegar too. I also like it with sliced almonds instead of cashews. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gate City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
terrific! I omit the oranges but I am sure they are good in it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Fantastic! This went over great with a large group of women. I did not soak the ramen noodles at all but I let the salad and dressing marinate for about 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miamisburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I left out the sugar because the fruit makes it sweet enough (white WINE vinegar is a must; don't use regular vinegar) and added cold, cooked chicken chunks for a substantial meal. Very nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
I love this salad! I'm not a big fan of coleslaw, but this is so fresh and light tasting. It's delicious! I love that it is very quick and easy to make. We had it with BBQ chicken and mashed potatoes. My dad is diabetic so I used 1/3 cup Splenda instead of sugar. Also I didn't have sunflower seeds so I left those out but they would have made it even better! I mixed up the dressing and tossed with the bag of slaw about 2 hours before lunch, then added the ramen, oranges, chopped green onions, and cashews just before serving. Perfect texture! The next day it was beginning to get a little soggy, but still yummy! Used leftovers to top grilled chicken sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I have made this salad so many times now, and people ask for the recipe over and over--it is wonderful! I use Splenda, and it tastes great. Definitely good to bring for a potluck dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I'm not a salad person, but I loved this salad. It has a great flavor. I recommend not soaking the ramen noodles and just leaving them crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States