Sweet and Crunchy Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Made this recipe and really did not care for the flavor of how it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiapia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
We really enjoyed this coleslaw. I used a 2lb. bag of coleslaw, 2 oriental ramen noodle packages, 2 cans of mandarin oranges and kept the vinegar, sugar and oil measurements the same. Also I added the ramen dry to the salad. At first it seemed a little dry but it turned out delicious and it wasn't dripping with dressing, but just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I love this salad. Just made a few changes- used shrimp flavor ramem, fresh chives, a touch of sesame oil and only cashews. I added the cashews and ramen just before serving so they stayed crunchy. Next time I'm going to try adding shrimp for a more substantial salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROCKETMOMKD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This was super delicious! even my picky family LOVED it! it made a lot of salad and at the end,the WHOLE salad was gone! they told me to make this again too. i didint have cashews so i used peanuts and i also didint have sunflower seeds. it still came out perfect. i will be making this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
It's so good that we keep digging into it before it was fully marinated! I was looking for some kind of summer salad for my 15 year old son's birthday dinner and saw this recipe. He adores Ramen noodles so I thought that I would give it a try. Now I just have to keep him from sneaking anymore bites before the big dinner! I used white vinegar and stevia in place of sugar. It tastes wonderful and it has no funny after taste. I have a feeling that this will become a summer staple around my home. Next time I am going to try one pack withthe noodles wet and the other pack to use as dry noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I take the dry noodles and saute them in butter to keep them super crunchy and it is awesome. Everyone always asks for the recipe. I've added chicken/shrimp to make it more of a lunch or dinner entree, which is nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
Whenever I make this and take it somewhere someone has always asked for the recipe each time. It is one of the best. Also I have often bought a head of cabbage and made my own coleslaw, added grated carrots also. Super!!! Just try it! Another note-if you make a lot of this leave the nuts out put in bowls in front of salad with a spoon as left overs with mushie/soft nuts... not so great! Usually no left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
I made this for the office salad buffet, and it was one of the first to disappear. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hickmanl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Fabulous salad. This is the second time I have made it and both times everyone RAVED. I used the Oriental flavored Ramen, which works perfectly. I mixed the slaw with the dressing and put it in the frig for two hours. Right before serving I mixed in everything else. I did not soak the noodles. The crunchiness is what makes it sooooo good! I served it with sesame-crusted sashimi tuna. Perfect combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
INCREDIBLY DELICIOUS. I haven't even finished eating it and I had to login to rate it because this is the most delicious salad I've ever eaten. I followed other people's suggestion to leave the noodles crunchy and used olive oil and Splenda to make it healthier. UPDATE I make this all the time now because everyone loves it. A few more helpful suggestions: I add a handful of chopped cilantro and it adds a delicious flavor to it. I've also sometimes added edamame for its wonderful source of low calorie protein. Additionally, I now have substituted the cashews for dry roasted peanuts since they're less expensive and just as delicious. I do think this salas is at its best while it's still very crunchy, so I usually don't add the dressing until I'm ready to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States