Sweet and Crunchy Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
very good...made a few adjustments but overall yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merrimack, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Greenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I used oriental flavored ramen instead of chicken, cut back on the amount of oil and left out the cashews. I also added some fresh snow peas. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camp0433

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This salad is really good. Everyone in my family loves it!!! I do use oriental ramen noodles and normally use pineapple instead of the mandarin oranges (just because I have those on hand more often). I also don't soak the noodles at all, the time in the fridge before serving softens them just enough. I have also added grilled chicken and pork to this and it is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. Zavoral

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Wow! This was excellent! An easy sneaky way to get the kids to eat some veggies! They were so delighted with the crunchy noodles that they didn't realize they were eating cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsjoedo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rutland, Vermont, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Loved it, but when I have had it before they didn't cook all of the noodles which gave it an extra crunch. I would recommend that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrinangel2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This is always a crowd pleaser! It has become one of my go-to recipes and people always ask me to make it again. I normally leave out the water chesnuts and the oranges and the flavors are still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
This is an excellent salad! You don't need to soak the noodles as long as it says...they get softer when they are added to the salad plus the dressing. The first time I made it I followed the recipe exactly. The next time, I cut the seasoning package down a little to cut the sodium. It is worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
My family loved this...had to write out the recipe three times before everyone left. I only soaked the noodles about 5 minutes as every said and they soaked up the dressing so it wasn't too wet or soggy and added the snow peas as others did. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Very easy and yummy. I added cilantro and chopped snow peas per another reviewers suggestion. I took the drained juice from the mandarins and added to the dressing mix in lieu of sugar. I'm sure it was more liquidy this way but it wasn't bad and I didn't use ALL THAT sugar and made use of the mandarin syrup as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ursulaj.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weston, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I loved this salad! I don't think you need to use all of the dressing. I used two bags of slaw and it was still too much dressing. I used toasted sliced almonds and sesame seeds (toasted myself) in mine and it was a big hit. They added a delicious flavor and crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States