Sweet and Crunchy Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Awesome dressing as is made even better with a few alterations. Used Oriental flavor ramen packet and only 1/4 brick of noodles. Used rice wine vineger, about 4 tbsp in place of 1/3 c. Used 2 tbsp white sugar in place of 1/2 c. Squeezed in half a good sized juicy lime and plan on adding the zest next time around. Grated in about 1 scant tsp of fresh ginger. Made my own slaw mix with red cabbage, carrots, scallions, celery and cilantro. Mounded marinated veg on top of a bed of crispy romaine and garnished with craisins and toasted sliced almonds. Delicious! Made a meal out of it with grilled sliced chicken breast and mexican rice it's what I had on hand).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I take this to company potlucks and I have to double the recipe because everyone likes this one. I don't mix the dressing in until I am ready to serve. I also don't put the nuts in until I am ready to serve because they tend to get soggy. This is a very refreshing salad. One of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Made this recipe as written and it is wonderful!! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
This recipe ROCKS! It was VERY easy to make and tasted amazing! dont lisetn to the others though..soak the noodles well as the recipe states. Will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Darmstadt, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This was soooo good! My kids loved it and asked that I make it again soon. I swapped toasted Almond slices for cashews, because that's what I had on hand. Because of other's suggestions, I only soaked the noodles for 3 minutes to give them a "head start". They were still firm, but pliable when added to the dish. It turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Paige
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Great recipe, I agree with other reviewers that you don't really need to boil the noodles as the oil mixture definitely softens them up pretty well while it sits in the fridge. But the first time out I did follow the recipe. While doing that I also felt with all the flavoring packets that came with the noodles, it made the mixture a bit too salty for my taste. So the second time around, I used 1/2 a packet. Next time, I might lessen the sugar and eliminate the sunflower seeds. Thanks Louise for sharing your delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Paige

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Wow this was awesome! I added some sesame oil and this was great! Served at Christmas parties and got rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
great recipe...I recommend that you soak those ramen noodles because I did not and after 2 hours, some noodles were still crunchy. I used oriental ramen packets and I added in a bit of roasted sesame oil for more flavor. Yum! I also threw in a handful of fresh cilantro. I reduced the sugar by half and added a bit of orange juice to the dressing. Just devine! Thanks Louise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I am not a fan of this recipe at all. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Easy recipe. Added chicken to it for a great summer meal and used broccoli slaw instead of coleslaw mix. I think in the future I will try cutting back on the oil. My family enjoyed and have had good reviews at summer parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States