Sweet and Crunchy Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
this tastes so great and it is easy and can be very quick to make! One thing though it would be a good idea to make the dressing and keep it on the side and not to toss it with the salad because I did that and my leftovers were all soggy. So unless you want a soggy and sweet salad pour the dressing on as you go. Otherwise it really is one of the best salads I have ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
All of the reviews inspired me to try this recipe for my mother's 93rd birthday. It was "okay" at best. I was disappointed and will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
Very different but very good. I like the fact that you soak the noodles in water to soften them. I've tried other recipes without soaking the noodles and I like this one better. I used sliced almonds instead of cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
This is the best recipe I have found for Chinese Cole slaw. I bring it to every party and BBQ & is always a hit. I can practically eat the whole thing myself in several sittings. Some people like chocolate...I love this vinegary cole slaw!! You can change it up with using beef ramen instead of chicken. I omit the water chestnuts & sometimes the mandarin oranges depending on if I want it sweetened up by the oranges. Pour the dressing on just before serving so it won't get soggy. You'll love it & if someone has never had a salad like this one, they'll ask you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
This is a keeper!! I made this for Easter dinner. Everyone loved it.. I did not soak the noodles before hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2005
Hi! I just made this for a big party social for a bunch of college students. Everyone who had the salad loved it and it was extremely simple to make. I did make some changes though...I think it needed more crunch (noodles overwhelmed it a bit) so I added a half a head of cabbage. I also didn't have white wine vinegar and used red vinegar instead. And I didn't have the sesame seeds so did without. Recipe still worked fine. Dressing was amazing. I would actually say that the recipe makes more like 12-14 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2004
This is a hit at my family gatherings. Everyone loves it and is always asking for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2004
This is wonderful! Even my 25yr old daughter who is a very picky eater loved this. She even made it and she doesn't boil water! I took it to my sons baseball party and all the 11yr old boys enjoyed this dish! It's a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIPPIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
I was, initially, a bit leary of this salad. When I had my husband read the recipe to see if it sounded delicious and appropriate for a caribbean themed summer party, he turned his nose up at it. He doesn't like more than half of the ingredients. Let me say, he had three helpings of this salad the day of the party. As the word spread around the party that the salad was delicious, more and more people tried it and everyone loved it. Such a wonderful flavor and so "summer friendly".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
This is one of the best recipes I've made off this site. I took it to a family reunion today & got many requests for the recipe & I come from a family of very good cooks! I made a few changes--I left out the cashews and added 3 tablespoons of toasted sesame seeds, 1/2 cup of toasted sliced almonds and 1/4 cup of chopped cilantro. I used the oriental flavor ramen mix which gave the dressing a delicious taste--similar to the dressing from a restaurant's Asian salad. You definitely do not need to soak the ramen noodles first unless you plan to serve the salad immediately after making it. I defintely plan to make this salad again for summer potlucks and as a main dish for my family with the addition of cooked chicken or shrimp. Awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States