Sweet and Chunky Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This hearty and chunky tomato soup exudes freshness to the max...the charred red peppers done in a small amount of butter are the secret flavor here. I would cut the ground cloves from 1/4 tsp to a pinch...they are a great addition to the mysterious charred red peppers but too strong. I cheated and used a 28 oz. can of diced tomatoes and an immersion blender at the end cutting down on cleanup and prep time. Add a touch of red wine and you have an almost creamy tomato soup that is bursting with fresh flavors and qualifies in my book as "light"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Cloves have NO place in this recipe! If your going try this please don't waste your time & money by adding the Cloves! Other then that, it was a great "have again"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Quincy, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
bland as is. need to add about twice/three times the seasoning. then it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
YUM!! Made this with my fresh garden tomatoes and a red bell pepper. (Didn't have a yellow one.) I also added about 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper just because I love just a hint of heat in soup. Absolutely loved this soup and the fact that it's very low calorie only made it better! Made a wonderful lunch! Will certainly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I followed the recipe loosely. Very loosely. “Eight tomatoes” was too vague for me. Eight large tomatoes? Eight medium or eight small tomatoes? When I brought in a big bowl of tomatoes from my garden today, they ranged in size from teeny to behemoth. (I grow several different varieties) The size of the tomatoes used for the recipe would definitely affect the outcome. So I kind of winged it, but weighed what I used for purposes of this review – I used just a tad over three pounds and ran them all through a food mill before proceeding with the recipe. I found the directions to cook the peppers “until slightly charred” a little confusing. I’m not sure how you’d do that with them chopped, in a pot, with a teaspoon of butter. When I think of charred I think broiled or roasted, in the oven or over a flame. Suffice it to say I sweated out the peppers and onions and added the garlic during the last 30 seconds or so before adding the tomato puree and the chicken broth. I used no sugar, cloves, oregano, basil or cornstarch – I wanted nothing other than the rich, sweet, red-ripe tomato flavor enhanced by that of the bell peppers. When it came time to add the milk, I used a combination of milk and heavy cream for extra creaminess and richness. Upon serving I gave each bowl a small dollop of pesto, which complemented the tomato like brown mustard does a brat. This soup, along with BLTs, was homegrown tomato nirvana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
The soup was wonderful, BUT bt the time you heat water to be able to peel tomatoes, peel tomatos,chop or mince all of the vegtables,who ever did that in 15 minutes must be Super woman, it took me about 1 hour. I told my husband that the next time we had it, it would be a join effort. Added grilled cheese sandwich, and called it supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Outstanding!! Addictive!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JThurston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This was excellent though I did tweak it a bit to suit our taste and to streamline the prep. I used 1 red pepper because that is what I had on hand.I only used a pinch of cloves to tone that flavor down. I mixed the cornstarch into cold evaporated milk and I stirred it in with my immersion blender.The cornstarch cooked and thickened right in the hot soup. I also blended the whole thing with my immersion blender because I like a smooth tomato soup. Wonderful results and very nice on a cold winter day. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States