Sweet and Chunky Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This was excellent though I did tweak it a bit to suit our taste and to streamline the prep. I used 1 red pepper because that is what I had on hand.I only used a pinch of cloves to tone that flavor down. I mixed the cornstarch into cold evaporated milk and I stirred it in with my immersion blender.The cornstarch cooked and thickened right in the hot soup. I also blended the whole thing with my immersion blender because I like a smooth tomato soup. Wonderful results and very nice on a cold winter day. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I think this recipe is simply delicious! I made it once last winter for a group of 30 people and everyone loved it! I misplaced it since then, and am very glad to have found it once again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
My husband is not a big tomato fan, never cared much for tomato soup, but this one is so good, he had two bowls and wants me to make it again. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Wonderful recipe! Gave me something to do with all the tomatoes in our back yard! I only made two changes--I added 1 1/2 c grilled corn (shaved off the cobb), and I used only one can of chicken stock. Very nice! The corn gave the soup a sweet crunch. I also grilled the tomatoes (to get the skin off) and bell peppers. It was a bit messy, but certainly came out great! Served this with Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread from this site--yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I LOVE this recipe. I am a huge fan of tomato soup, but I don't like store-bought because of all the sodium. When our garden started producing more tomatoes than we could eat, I decided to cook and freeze this soup. I follow the recipe almost exactly, except I use less salt and more sugar. Instead of 2 C chicken broth, I use 1 C tomato sauce and 1 C broth. Great and healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
My 4 year old said this is his new favorite soup! I doubled the recipe, used fresh instead of dried basil, used low-sodium broth and added only a pinch of salt, and finally added about 2 cups of chopped spinach. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Conners Beam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I've used this recipe several times, doubling and tripling the recipe so I can not only have dinner, but freeze some for the future. Wonderful use for all those extra garden tomatoes. Family loves this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
very good. Used 3 cans chopped tomatoes and a can of tomato sauce. No peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Absolutely gorgeous!! Very tasty and lovely flavours. One of my favourite homemade soup recipes. Made for the first time last night as a starter for my dinner party and went down a treat! Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Had a bunch of tomatoes to be used. Found this recipe. I have only one word to describe it. AWESOME!!!! My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Deer Park, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States