Sweet and Chunky Tomato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
I LOVE this recipe. I am a huge fan of tomato soup, but I don't like store-bought because of all the sodium. When our garden started producing more tomatoes than we could eat, I decided to cook and freeze this soup. I follow the recipe almost exactly, except I use less salt and more sugar. Instead of 2 C chicken broth, I use 1 C tomato sauce and 1 C broth. Great and healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I made three small changes. I did not use the whole amount of salt (just enough to flavor it without going overboard), I added some fresh ground pepper and because I wanted to skip the cornstarch, I cut back on the milk. I used fat free evaporated milk which is a little thick on it's own. I used just enough to give it a creamy flavor, really no more than a third of a cup. For us, we didn't really care for the cloves in this soup recipe. I think I'd like to try this again without it. Then it would be just right for our family. This was crazy simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
My husband is not a big tomato fan, never cared much for tomato soup, but this one is so good, he had two bowls and wants me to make it again. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I've used this recipe several times, doubling and tripling the recipe so I can not only have dinner, but freeze some for the future. Wonderful use for all those extra garden tomatoes. Family loves this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Wonderful recipe! Gave me something to do with all the tomatoes in our back yard! I only made two changes--I added 1 1/2 c grilled corn (shaved off the cobb), and I used only one can of chicken stock. Very nice! The corn gave the soup a sweet crunch. I also grilled the tomatoes (to get the skin off) and bell peppers. It was a bit messy, but certainly came out great! Served this with Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread from this site--yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I think this recipe is simply delicious! I made it once last winter for a group of 30 people and everyone loved it! I misplaced it since then, and am very glad to have found it once again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
I followed the recipe loosely. Very loosely. “Eight tomatoes” was too vague for me. Eight large tomatoes? Eight medium or eight small tomatoes? When I brought in a big bowl of tomatoes from my garden today, they ranged in size from teeny to behemoth. (I grow several different varieties) The size of the tomatoes used for the recipe would definitely affect the outcome. So I kind of winged it, but weighed what I used for purposes of this review – I used just a tad over three pounds and ran them all through a food mill before proceeding with the recipe. I found the directions to cook the peppers “until slightly charred” a little confusing. I’m not sure how you’d do that with them chopped, in a pot, with a teaspoon of butter. When I think of charred I think broiled or roasted, in the oven or over a flame. Suffice it to say I sweated out the peppers and onions and added the garlic during the last 30 seconds or so before adding the tomato puree and the chicken broth. I used no sugar, cloves, oregano, basil or cornstarch – I wanted nothing other than the rich, sweet, red-ripe tomato flavor enhanced by that of the bell peppers. When it came time to add the milk, I used a combination of milk and heavy cream for extra creaminess and richness. Upon serving I gave each bowl a small dollop of pesto, which complemented the tomato like brown mustard does a brat. This soup, along with BLTs, was homegrown tomato nirvana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I didn't know how good tomato soup could be! I cut off the tops of the tomatoes and scooped out the pulp instead of peeling, and that was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I made it vegetarian by omitting the chicken broth. Added a bay leaf ,and whole cloves 2 (removed before blending) . I used tomato paste 3 spoons along with 1/2 zuchini & corn . Turned out delicious.My girls 7& 3 loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
OK, but not anything fantastic. The cloves make it kind of wierd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make quick tomato soup from scratch.

Rich and Creamy Tomato Basil Soup

This creamy soup is made with fresh tomatoes, cream, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States