Sweet and Buttery Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
The previous recipe by "themeese" clearly states that she believes that "it was not the recipes fault" and that it was in fact a bad crop. Leaving 1 star reflected a very bad recipe on the publishers part and was unfair. Please try for yourself, enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
Pretty good. My husband who is not a fan of turnips actually liked this one. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catlover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2006
Didn't really care for the combination of flavors in this dish. I would leave out the brown sugar and nutmeg next time. Not sure about the sour cream, but might try adding a little to my usual way of coursely mashing turnips and carrots, with butter and seasonings. The carrots add a sweeter flavor and no need for sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Well, I learned a lesson today. If the turnips you grew in your garden came out kinda small, tough, and strong, not even a generous dose of fat and sugar will magically make them edible! I will have to revist this idea with store-bought turnips and see if I can give it more stars. The concoction I wound up with hit the trash can PDQ. I don't think it is the recipe's fault. You shouldn't go wrong with sour cream and brown sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I used half the sugar and butter, and milk instead of cream, and it still came out plenty sweet-n-buttery. I really like the unusual flavor combo, but will do it with still less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I liked it, however, following the recipe to the letter was too much liquid in the bowl. I will definately make this again and cut back the liquid a bit. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
So I In the spirit of adventure and because they were dirt cheap, I bought some turnips and now I know why there's, like, 5 recipes for turnips. Half the receipes on this site call for a half pound of bacon and copious amounts of butter. No kidding. Even with the added spices and mashing -- no matter how I wished them to be like mashed potatoes these suckers had a life of their own. They retained their diced shape -- no matter how much mashing I subjected them to. The hubster, a man who claims to love vegetables and would like to go vegetarian but in reality will only eat maybe 3 vegetables (green beans, cauliflower (raw only) and I'm hard pressed for third vegetable), was very adventurous in his forkfuls...and I had to call it early -- Dear God Man! Back away from the turnips! I still gave the receipe 4 stars as it's not the recipe, we just don't dig turnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I thought this was way too watery. We ended up mashing it up because of that, and it was still a bit watery. That, and there was just a hint of a "radish" aftertaste that did not go over well in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hallyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Delish, after adding butter and sour cream,tasted and decided that it was already delicious and did not need any additional ingredients. Will try to finish recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This is really good! I also added a carrot (boiled with brown sugar) to give it some more flavour and colour. I also added a pinch of ginger along with the nutmeg. Five stars! Thanks a mil :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loki1

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States