Sweet and Buttery Turnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Yummy! I didn't know what to do with all those turnips from my CSA, but now I know. I halved all the ingredients except for Turnips (stuck with 2 lbs on that) after reading reviews re: too watery. It was perfect. Thanks BUNKYDARL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dracut, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
I did not care for this. I love turnips and thought it wouldve been tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This recipe was a hit at all 3 Christmas dinners that I had to prepare! I did cut back on the liquid, adding the cream slowly until I achieved the desired consistency. I even had Turnip haters asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This was very good prior to adding the brown sugar. I went with only a couple tablespoons of brown sugar to start and wish I had just left it out. I didn't even add as much butter, sour cream or half & half, but it was still excellent. Just didn't like it sweetened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This is really good! I also added a carrot (boiled with brown sugar) to give it some more flavour and colour. I also added a pinch of ginger along with the nutmeg. Five stars! Thanks a mil :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loki1

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Delish, after adding butter and sour cream,tasted and decided that it was already delicious and did not need any additional ingredients. Will try to finish recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I thought this was way too watery. We ended up mashing it up because of that, and it was still a bit watery. That, and there was just a hint of a "radish" aftertaste that did not go over well in my book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
So I In the spirit of adventure and because they were dirt cheap, I bought some turnips and now I know why there's, like, 5 recipes for turnips. Half the receipes on this site call for a half pound of bacon and copious amounts of butter. No kidding. Even with the added spices and mashing -- no matter how I wished them to be like mashed potatoes these suckers had a life of their own. They retained their diced shape -- no matter how much mashing I subjected them to. The hubster, a man who claims to love vegetables and would like to go vegetarian but in reality will only eat maybe 3 vegetables (green beans, cauliflower (raw only) and I'm hard pressed for third vegetable), was very adventurous in his forkfuls...and I had to call it early -- Dear God Man! Back away from the turnips! I still gave the receipe 4 stars as it's not the recipe, we just don't dig turnips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I liked it, however, following the recipe to the letter was too much liquid in the bowl. I will definately make this again and cut back the liquid a bit. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I used half the sugar and butter, and milk instead of cream, and it still came out plenty sweet-n-buttery. I really like the unusual flavor combo, but will do it with still less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Puff

Learn how to make sweet potato puff topped with crunchy pralines.

Buttery Cooked Carrots

Simmered in brown sugar, these sweet, tender carrots are so quick and easy.

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Simple mashed sweet potatoes are flavored with maple syrup and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States