Sweet Zucchini Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I have made a similiar recipe for about 20 years now. Once you have tried this relish you never want to go back to store bought. The difference between this recipe & mine is.. I use apple cider vinegar, 4 cups sugar, 1 TBSLP dry mustard & 1/8 cayenne pepper and a 2 tsp. cornstarch. I found mine just perfect for sweetness. So, to all you relish users..... try it...You'll love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hermon, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I made 2 versions. First one was as written and it was really good...but a little too sweet for our tastes...would be great on a hotdog! 2nd version, I reduced the sugar to 2 cups, and added 5 finely chopped and seeded jalapenos. I will make this EVERY year. Easy prep...doesn't involve a 4 day process.. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
Thank you for submitting this recipe! This is a wonderful use for the zucchini that seem to take over my garden over night. The only change I made was to sub a little of the white vinegar with cider vinegar as I was about 1/2 cup short. I used half-pint jars and processed for ten minutes. This is a keeper and I will be making it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Ziegler Lutz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This recipe may not be safe for canning due to lower acidity! With every addition you make of peppers, onions etc...you are lowering the acidity of this product. Using anything other than 5% vinegar will also render it unsafe. Water bath canning may not be appropriate. Remember...Botulism is deadly. "I haven't killed anyone yet'' isn't a good excuse. Please consult your extension office or contact the Ball Canning hotline prior to making this. They can assist you in determining the safety of these old recipes. ~A Master Food Preserver
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I have been making this relish for years. This is better than any sweet pickle relish I have ever had. Really yummy on hot dogs! I also make this with splenda for a sugar free version. Try it you'll like it : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Great recipe, my review is for the recipe as stated. However, 6 cups of sugar, in my opinion is way too much. The ratio of sugar to vinegar should be the same. I used 2 cups of sugar and apple cider vinegar instead of white. I will definitly make this again with those changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliceandtrixie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredonia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Love it! I did make a couple changes though. I used apple cider vinegar instead of white vinegar and left out the cornstarch. I will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dylan's Mom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
I like it hot, so, I added 4 thinnly sliced and seeded jalapenos to the batch. Nice zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I adapted this recipie and used my B&B Zucchini process technique - - shred the Zukes, prep the onions, add the two together then toss with the salt. Cover the mixture with a layer of ice cubes, cover the bowl, and then place in the refidgerator. Chill for 3 - 6 hrs. I did not find any need to go the full overnight method. Substituted Apple Cider Vinegar and added 1 Tablespoon slightly cracked Mustard Seed, reduced Sugar to 2 cups, omitted the Corn Starch, added 2 diced red Jalapeno peppers . If you really want it thicker - I suggest Clear Gel - a modified starch for canning and pie fillings. Clear Gel is just that, clear, no clouding and very reasonable. - this is wonderful and the acidity is safe per my Ph Paper test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrystine Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I've been looking for a way to use up some of the zucchini from my garden, so when I found this recipe, I was very excited. I made it today, and it is soooooooo good!!! I only got 5 1/2 pint jars out of it instead of the 7, though. Thank you so much for this recipe. I will definitely keep it for next year, and maybe even make more this year if I get a lot more zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Payson, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Pepper Onion Relish

See how to make a relish with pickled peppers, jalapenos, and onions.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States