Sweet Zucchini Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
It is sweet! first time I followed the recipe and found it a little too sweet for me but an excellent recipe thats easy to follow. Second time I peeled zucchini for another dish and used only the peels to make the relish. skipped the overnight soak, cut the sugar to 5 cups, added a habanero pepper, 1/2 tsp dried mustard and 1/2 tsp southwest chipotle seasoning mix. Still a sweet relish but now you notice other flavous as well giving it more depth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Amazing! I did not have Zucchini but had tons of yellow cucumbers. Kept everything the same except that I used apple cider vinegar instead of white vinegar. I used to never like relish on my hot dogs but now I do! Can't wait to hear the comments at our upcoming birthday party!!! Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Another great base recipe! I used half gold half green zucchinni this year, and due to an onion miscalculation, I used a red onion too. What a difference from last year! Lots of great flavors. Don't get me wrong, last years was awesome as well, this is just different in an amazing way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I reduced the sugar by half and doubled the remaining ingredients. It came out perfect and everyone raves over how good this is and it still taste sweet. I did not have pickling salt so I used a good (Eden brand) sea salt, worked great and did not turn the zucchini brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freestyle66

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Excellent! A family favorite. I used cider vinegar and reduced the sugar to 5 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This recipe is easy to do and absolutely fabulous. I do double the spices though because that's how I like it. Husban, kids, and family and friends love it when I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
FANTASTIC! This recipe deserves more stars!! I added a little green food color to achieve a darker color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
Was very good!! Doing another batch tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Fourth year with this recipe. Four cups of sugar is about right for us. Too much celery seed for our taste. We use 3/4 tsp. To yeild 7 pints I firmly pack four cup pyrex 3 times. Jalapenos are a super enhancement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
This was for sure a 5 star recipe, however, the only thing that did not go as planned, according to the recipe, is I only ended up with 8 cups of relish (or four 2 cup jars) instead of the 7 indicated in the recipe. And I even added 2 extra cups of grated zucchini because someone else said they only got 5 jars. I also added the recommended amount of turmeric and another table spoon just because it is really good for you and we like it and 1 tbsp of celery seed for the same reason. Guess it's back to the garden for another zucchini to get another 4 more jars! LOL Thanks for this wonderful recipe to use up my BIG zucchinis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States