Sweet Zucchini Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
SO delicious!! I cut way back on the sugar as suggested in other reviews. I doubled the recipe and only used 5c sugar. It is still very sweet. With a double recipe, I got 11 pints. I squeezed out as much water as I could after rinsing it, and am glad I did, as it would have been very watery otherwise. It is the perfect consistency and I can't wait to BBQ burgers again and have it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Easy and very good! I also used cider vinegar since it is what I had on hand. I used a large zuccini that had been in the fridge a few days so the skin was tough and the relish came out a little crunchy. Still fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This recipe is absolutely FABULOUS! I too will never make relish with cucumbers (they are harder for me to grow) and now my abundance of zucchini will never go to waste. You can't tell the difference and the flavor is awesome. Even my kids love this on hot dogs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I just made this today... my first attempt at canning ANYTHING! After reading so many of the reviews, I did add some diced red hot peppers, about 4 small ones. Everything else I kept the same as the recipe, including processing for the full 30 min. Although it was a little more liquidy than I expected, the relish was delicious. And, I didn't break any jars which, in itself, was a success! It made 5 pint jars with a little left over that I'm currently enjoying over some turkey. When I make it again, which I will, I will use smaller jars as I think a pint is too much for relish. Thanks for making my first attempt at canning a breeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This recipe may not be safe for canning due to lower acidity! With every addition you make of peppers, onions etc...you are lowering the acidity of this product. Using anything other than 5% vinegar will also render it unsafe. Water bath canning may not be appropriate. Remember...Botulism is deadly. "I haven't killed anyone yet'' isn't a good excuse. Please consult your extension office or contact the Ball Canning hotline prior to making this. They can assist you in determining the safety of these old recipes. ~A Master Food Preserver
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I had way too much zucchini from my garden this year so I decided to try this recipe to use up some of it. I can't believe how wonderful it is!!! I cut the sugar in 1/2 as some of the other reviewers suggested, but other then that I kept the recipe the same. My husband and all 3 of our kids have been putting in on everything, hot dogs, hamburgers, even sandwiches. This recipe is definitly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy2103

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Missy
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I too hate zucchini....love this recipe. Just made 2 batches and added the jalapeno and mustard seed as suggested. I also added the Cider vinager. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Soooo...good. Will add less sugar next time, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Drebee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This relish is fabulous. Going to make more tomorrow. The whole family loved loved loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This relish won over two skeptics. My dad who hates zucchini and me who has never been a big relish fan. All I've heard since this year's zucchinis have started coming has been - "Make more zucchini relish like last year!" So glad that I had put this recipe in my allrecipes recipe box - I'll need it every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States