Sweet Zucchini Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Great recipe, my review is for the recipe as stated. However, 6 cups of sugar, in my opinion is way too much. The ratio of sugar to vinegar should be the same. I used 2 cups of sugar and apple cider vinegar instead of white. I will definitly make this again with those changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aliceandtrixie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredonia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Such a great relish! I fell in love with it! I did reduce the sugar like others mentioned down to 4 cups and it's still pretty sweet! Mine only yielded 4 1/2 pints instead of the seven, but that's still plenty! I mixed my white vinegar with apple cider vinegar and it gave it a nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muscatine, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This is the second year for me to make this zucchini relish and once again I won a blue ribbon at the fair. It is incredible!! I make mine with more yellow zucchini so it looks a bit different, but tastes just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Absolutely wonderful relish. I highly recommend this recipe if you want a fresh, sweet relish (and if you have a zucchini coming out your ears).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
SO delicious!! I cut way back on the sugar as suggested in other reviews. I doubled the recipe and only used 5c sugar. It is still very sweet. With a double recipe, I got 11 pints. I squeezed out as much water as I could after rinsing it, and am glad I did, as it would have been very watery otherwise. It is the perfect consistency and I can't wait to BBQ burgers again and have it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Easy and very good! I also used cider vinegar since it is what I had on hand. I used a large zuccini that had been in the fridge a few days so the skin was tough and the relish came out a little crunchy. Still fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This recipe is absolutely FABULOUS! I too will never make relish with cucumbers (they are harder for me to grow) and now my abundance of zucchini will never go to waste. You can't tell the difference and the flavor is awesome. Even my kids love this on hot dogs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I just made this today... my first attempt at canning ANYTHING! After reading so many of the reviews, I did add some diced red hot peppers, about 4 small ones. Everything else I kept the same as the recipe, including processing for the full 30 min. Although it was a little more liquidy than I expected, the relish was delicious. And, I didn't break any jars which, in itself, was a success! It made 5 pint jars with a little left over that I'm currently enjoying over some turkey. When I make it again, which I will, I will use smaller jars as I think a pint is too much for relish. Thanks for making my first attempt at canning a breeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This recipe may not be safe for canning due to lower acidity! With every addition you make of peppers, onions etc...you are lowering the acidity of this product. Using anything other than 5% vinegar will also render it unsafe. Water bath canning may not be appropriate. Remember...Botulism is deadly. "I haven't killed anyone yet'' isn't a good excuse. Please consult your extension office or contact the Ball Canning hotline prior to making this. They can assist you in determining the safety of these old recipes. ~A Master Food Preserver
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I had way too much zucchini from my garden this year so I decided to try this recipe to use up some of it. I can't believe how wonderful it is!!! I cut the sugar in 1/2 as some of the other reviewers suggested, but other then that I kept the recipe the same. My husband and all 3 of our kids have been putting in on everything, hot dogs, hamburgers, even sandwiches. This recipe is definitly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Pepper Onion Relish

See how to make a relish with pickled peppers, jalapenos, and onions.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States