Sweet Zucchini Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Michelle Manire
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
This is my first year growing my own vegetables and to my surprise, I have zucchini coming out of my ears. I think I have made every zucchini 'something' you could think of. I stumbled across this recipe and thought I'd give it a go. I've never canned anything before so I was a little gun shy because after all the work, I didn't want to fail. So I jumped in. I followed the instructions and wala! - sweet zucchini relish. It's by far, the most popular thing I've made and everyone begs me for more or just helps themselves to a jar when they're over. The first time I made it, I forgot the onions but everyone raved about it so apparently no one noticed. Now I include the onions and people still rave about it. My sister and 13 yr old nephew like to eat it as salsa with chips. I don't think there's a wrong way to eat this. I have other friends who buy food around my relish. Who knew zucchini relish could have so much power? Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Manire

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Was looking for a good starting point to use my zucchini...but wanted some zest. Substituted five cups of peppers (3 habaneros, 12 jalapeños, and the rest anaheims) for three of the cups of zucchini and ended up with The Best Darned Relish in Washington! I sat down and ate all the remains that would not fit in the jars with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This recipe is fantastic just the way it is!! I make this all the time.. My family LOVES it!! I always make a recipe as stated. If you are going to rate it. rate the actual recipe not the changes YOU made to it. Cucumbers and zuchhini are interchangeable in this recipe.. Thank you Gail for posting this yummy relish recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
I made this at the end of the harvest and let me tell you I couldn't keep the jars at home. I did like most and cut the sugar back to 2 cups. It was the right amount of sweetness. My 5yo likes to eat it right off her plate, forget the hot dog. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hburch06

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Remington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I had to change my review! After it sat for a while, it turned into one of my favorites! It is so easy to make, and I'm adding hot peppers to the next batch. I'd suggest anyone wanting to make relish...try this one! Only thing I would comment on, is to chop the zucchini instead of shredding it. The texture seems better when chopped. Have fun with making this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
I only used 3 1/2 C sugar, still pretty sweet, good thought, next time I'll use like 2C and add some pickling spice, I added about 1/2 tsp of mustard seed. Confused on the size thought. I used about 13 to 14 C zucchini (packed Cups), I made 1/2 pints jars so I would have more but it only made 9 half pint jars, was expecting 14 plus a little extra to toss in the fridge. Over all it was going, but would like to have more of a dill pickle kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Smethport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Awesome, Awesome, Awesome. Better than Willy's Relish, which my hub LOVES but is soooo overpriced! I used apple cider vinegar. I will make this again and again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
WOW! very good! I took the advice of oher reviwers and cut the sugar to 2 1/2 cups and it was the right balance between sweet & sour. I also used cider vinegar. I didn't jar it as I knew I was going to use it in recipes for the week and give to family to try. I'll have to go back to the farmers market and get more zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Awesome!!!! Made as written, with the exception of using only 3 cups of sugar and processed in half pint jars for 10 minutes. Our first attempt at canning - YUM!!!! Easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftydame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I was perhaps too conscientious in squeezing too much liquid out of the zucchini, and the concoction ended up a little dry to pack in the jars, so I added a little water toward the end of simmering. I used 2 cups sugar, and it tastes yummy. Far better than the horrid store bought stuff. I got 5 pints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States