Sweet Zucchini Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This is a great relish. Love it on hotdogs and in beans. Have canned for years and made many types of pickles, but this is the best relish I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I adapted this recipie and used my B&B Zucchini process technique - - shred the Zukes, prep the onions, add the two together then toss with the salt. Cover the mixture with a layer of ice cubes, cover the bowl, and then place in the refidgerator. Chill for 3 - 6 hrs. I did not find any need to go the full overnight method. Substituted Apple Cider Vinegar and added 1 Tablespoon slightly cracked Mustard Seed, reduced Sugar to 2 cups, omitted the Corn Starch, added 2 diced red Jalapeno peppers . If you really want it thicker - I suggest Clear Gel - a modified starch for canning and pie fillings. Clear Gel is just that, clear, no clouding and very reasonable. - this is wonderful and the acidity is safe per my Ph Paper test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrystine Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Excellent ! Very good with vegtables. However 6 cups of sugar is just too much. Will adjust next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2014
Spot on spices for my tastes. Easy to make and keeps well. I put it up last October and have just opened the last jar now June.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SueK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Romulus, New York, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I have been making this relish for many years. For anyone concerned about the low acidity and question if it's safe to can, it actually freezes well. I just put it up in containers and freeze. I believe one reason it calls for so much sugar is to make it safe. So you can safely reduce the sugar if you freeze it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny Gage

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This was my first venture with zucchini relish...I am impressed! What a great way to use all that garden zucchini. Based on reviews and my own personal taste, I reduced the sugar to 2 cups but will probably increase to 3 or 3.5 next time. Also used apple cider vinegar but didn't have tumeric but will add it next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NVGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson City, Nevada, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This is a very good recipe for hot dog, hamburger or sandwich topping. The only change I would suggest is a little less sugar. As prepared it is a little to sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul Hubbard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I made this with the apple cider vinegar and only 4 cups of sugar as other reviewers recommended. I also added a chopped jalapeno to give it a little zing. Everyone loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZYPITTSBURGH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Fantastic! I followed the recipe to the latter and it was excellent. I'm making another batch this weekend it's a great use of my monster Zucchini's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Georgie
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Love this relish. Been looking for this recipe for awhile. Made a couple changes by adding extra half cup of vinegar and used red and yellow peppers, no green. This is great on hot dogs, hamburgers, sandwiches, and to make tartar sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgie
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Pepper Onion Relish

See how to make a relish with pickled peppers, jalapenos, and onions.

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States