Sweet Zucchini Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Just like moms. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Wippel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
We love the flavor of this zucchini relish and found that it is easier than I thought to can. One reader mentioned concern over the safety of canning this recipe. Their concern was over the acidity, because of the addition of peppers and onions. However, this recipe actually calls for less peppers then the Ball book of home preserving. That means there should be no issue or concern with the hot water bath method of canning as long as you follow directions. I actually like this recipe better then the Ball recipe because of the seasonings used here. Also, this recipe calls for one less pepper resulting in what I feel is a better flavor. I do add one half teaspoon of mustard seed because I like that flavor included in my relish. Two recommendations, 1) you could use ClearJel (a modified cornstarch made to withstand heat) instead of the cornstarch. Mix the clear gel with the sugar first before adding it to the rest of the mixture. 2), leave 1/2 inch headspace in the canning jar and you will run into less problems. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I made this relish and then canned it. At first I thought it was going to be awful because it smelled horrible while cooking but once finished, canned, chilled and later opened..it was very good (and didn't smell bad). We enjoyed it on gilled hot dogs and hamburgers. I did reduce the sugar amount but that was really the only adjustment I made. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Love this recipe.I omitted sugar and used trivia.It is great sweet relish for diabetics. When omitting sugar and trust me u don't miss it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I"ve made this recipe and its great (a great way to use those gigantic ones that get away from you). Wish I'ld planted some this year. Can't seem to find anyone near me that is trying to re-home a giant one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by De Peaslee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Made this recipe for the first time last year and my husband ate all that I canned. Glad Zucchini is back on again , This year I am making triple the amount . I did cut the sugar in half though as some people mentioned and it is still delicious . Thanks for sharing your mom's recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Used this recipe last year. It was my first time ever canning and quite frankly, it went over TOO well. I will be using this recipe again! It has become a staple! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I found that it was a bit toooo sweet, so I cut the sugar in half and we LOVE it!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Apple Valley, California, USA
Living In: Pinon Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This is a great relish. Love it on hotdogs and in beans. Have canned for years and made many types of pickles, but this is the best relish I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I adapted this recipie and used my B&B Zucchini process technique - - shred the Zukes, prep the onions, add the two together then toss with the salt. Cover the mixture with a layer of ice cubes, cover the bowl, and then place in the refidgerator. Chill for 3 - 6 hrs. I did not find any need to go the full overnight method. Substituted Apple Cider Vinegar and added 1 Tablespoon slightly cracked Mustard Seed, reduced Sugar to 2 cups, omitted the Corn Starch, added 2 diced red Jalapeno peppers . If you really want it thicker - I suggest Clear Gel - a modified starch for canning and pie fillings. Clear Gel is just that, clear, no clouding and very reasonable. - this is wonderful and the acidity is safe per my Ph Paper test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrystine Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States