Sweet Zucchini Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Really like the taste of this relish. Only got 5-1/2 pts. so next time I will increase ingredients slightly. Made a couple changes, only added 2-1/2c sugar and used 2-1/2c apple cider vinegar. Also added 1/2 tsp. of dry mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
My mother made zucchini relish when I was growing up and unfortunately she is not here to pass it on. Used this recipe and it is just like I remember. Excellent taste! Perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Smitchak
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
With my food processor this was embarrassingly easy to make! My first time water bath canning, 2jars didn't seal but they taste so good we'll be eating them soon. Better to leave a 1/2 inch of head space in the jars. I did use half apple cider vinegar and half white since that's what I had on hand, and used only 2cups of sugar. Red & yellow peppers, no green. Very forgiving recipe, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Tastes great with some revisions... 1.5 times the recipe fills seven 500ml jars perfectly and uses 18 cups grated zucchini! I squeezed the water by hand from the zuke/onion mixture after rinsing and draining. Sugar was reduced from 9 c to 3.5 cups; for vinegar I split it evenly between white and apple cider; added 1 T dry mustard and 6 finely diced jalapenos. Deelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Just made this recipe today, exactly as written and I must say I too am now a fan! This was the first year that I planted zucchini in my garden and it really took off. I never heard of zucchini relish but wanted to use up some so I thought I'd just give it a try. Was this ever a surprise! I will definitely be making this again and again. Next time I may reduce the sugar a little, use apple cider vinegar and will add some hot peppers to give it zing. It is wonderful as written though, so do give it a try. Also, I was looking in my All American canner cook book and found the same recipe only they made it out of zucchini slices for pickle chips. It said to only process for 10 minutes and it did say to use water bath, so it is definitely a safe recipe, so don't be concerned about it not being safe. EDIT: Tonight I baked chicken legs in the oven @ 400F for one hour. I then put some of this relish on each piece and let it cook about 10-15 minutes more. OUT OF THIS WORLD! My advice, don't limit yourself to just hamburgers & hot dogs with this recipe. Experiment because it is worth it's weight in gold! And do shred the zucchini as stated in the recipe. It makes it stay together better when you put it on something. I can't stop raving about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Just like moms. ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Wippel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
We love the flavor of this zucchini relish and found that it is easier than I thought to can. One reader mentioned concern over the safety of canning this recipe. Their concern was over the acidity, because of the addition of peppers and onions. However, this recipe actually calls for less peppers then the Ball book of home preserving. That means there should be no issue or concern with the hot water bath method of canning as long as you follow directions. I actually like this recipe better then the Ball recipe because of the seasonings used here. Also, this recipe calls for one less pepper resulting in what I feel is a better flavor. I do add one half teaspoon of mustard seed because I like that flavor included in my relish. Two recommendations, 1) you could use ClearJel (a modified cornstarch made to withstand heat) instead of the cornstarch. Mix the clear gel with the sugar first before adding it to the rest of the mixture. 2), leave 1/2 inch headspace in the canning jar and you will run into less problems. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I made this relish and then canned it. At first I thought it was going to be awful because it smelled horrible while cooking but once finished, canned, chilled and later opened..it was very good (and didn't smell bad). We enjoyed it on gilled hot dogs and hamburgers. I did reduce the sugar amount but that was really the only adjustment I made. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Love this recipe.I omitted sugar and used trivia.It is great sweet relish for diabetics. When omitting sugar and trust me u don't miss it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I"ve made this recipe and its great (a great way to use those gigantic ones that get away from you). Wish I'ld planted some this year. Can't seem to find anyone near me that is trying to re-home a giant one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by De Peaslee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States