Sweet Zucchini Relish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Love it! This was my first time making any type of relish. Making more tomorrow....enough to share with friends next summer at the lake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This is close to zucchini syrup! I'm new to canning, so I trusted the "6 cups of sugar". Meanwhile my gut was asking me "are you making candy or something?". Unless your household is filled with sugar addicts, this recipe is way too sweet. I think I will have to rinse mine before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Wonderful, wonderful recipe! Made 10 half-pint jars yesterday. Following tips from others I cut the sugar down to 2-1/2 cups. It was still a tad too sweet but absolutely delicious. Will cut sugar by 1/4 cup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Great recipe for a relish my mother used to make. My dad loved to plant gobs and so we were always looking for a way to use them. I agree 6 C sugar is waaaaay too much. Am making it again and will halve the sugar. Also left out the peppers as I'd forgotten to buy them. I have friends who are allergic. It's no great loss to the overall taste. Subbing in cider vinegar also will add complexity to flavor. Glad to have the suggestion about the ice cubes and 4-6 hrs chill instead of overnight. I need to make something all at once when I have a sliver of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Allie B
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I had to modify this recipe some because of food allergies. Omitted green and red peppers and added Anaheim peppers and pimientos. I did this last year and it was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Really like the taste of this relish. Only got 5-1/2 pts. so next time I will increase ingredients slightly. Made a couple changes, only added 2-1/2c sugar and used 2-1/2c apple cider vinegar. Also added 1/2 tsp. of dry mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
My mother made zucchini relish when I was growing up and unfortunately she is not here to pass it on. Used this recipe and it is just like I remember. Excellent taste! Perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Smitchak
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
With my food processor this was embarrassingly easy to make! My first time water bath canning, 2jars didn't seal but they taste so good we'll be eating them soon. Better to leave a 1/2 inch of head space in the jars. I did use half apple cider vinegar and half white since that's what I had on hand, and used only 2cups of sugar. Red & yellow peppers, no green. Very forgiving recipe, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
Tastes great with some revisions... 1.5 times the recipe fills seven 500ml jars perfectly and uses 18 cups grated zucchini! I squeezed the water by hand from the zuke/onion mixture after rinsing and draining. Sugar was reduced from 9 c to 3.5 cups; for vinegar I split it evenly between white and apple cider; added 1 T dry mustard and 6 finely diced jalapenos. Deelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Just made this recipe today, exactly as written and I must say I too am now a fan! This was the first year that I planted zucchini in my garden and it really took off. I never heard of zucchini relish but wanted to use up some so I thought I'd just give it a try. Was this ever a surprise! I will definitely be making this again and again. Next time I may reduce the sugar a little, use apple cider vinegar and will add some hot peppers to give it zing. It is wonderful as written though, so do give it a try. Also, I was looking in my All American canner cook book and found the same recipe only they made it out of zucchini slices for pickle chips. It said to only process for 10 minutes and it did say to use water bath, so it is definitely a safe recipe, so don't be concerned about it not being safe. EDIT: Tonight I baked chicken legs in the oven @ 400F for one hour. I then put some of this relish on each piece and let it cook about 10-15 minutes more. OUT OF THIS WORLD! My advice, don't limit yourself to just hamburgers & hot dogs with this recipe. Experiment because it is worth it's weight in gold! And do shred the zucchini as stated in the recipe. It makes it stay together better when you put it on something. I can't stop raving about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States