Sweet Vidalia Onion Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Not a vidalia onion season has gone by without being asked to make it several times. I am always asked for the recipe. I only use 4 Tablespoons of butter in the crust (saltines do not work, you must use Ritz type crackers). I use whole milk instead of half and half, but nonfat or lowfat milks don't cut it. Topped with about a cup of cheese, this pie is an awesome side for grilled meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2003
This makes a delicious & easy side dish and substitutions work well. I used a variety of left over crackers and a mix of swiss and asiago cheeses. I also added thyme but any of your favorite herbs would work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
We all love this recipe. I have made it for the last 7 Christmases, once I got the recipe out of my mother-in-law : ) Hers was very specific stating 52 ritz crackers and if Vidalia Onions aren't in season, add sugar to the onions while sauteing them. I am a big fan of sweetening the onions, so do it even when the Vidalia onions are in season. I also make it 1-2 days ahead and just reheat the day of, to free oven space (the microwave even works...gasp!). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2002
Very good recipe. In the future, I think I'll use crescent rolls as the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Like reviewer, Wilemon, I added 1/2c cheese to egg mixture, and 1/2c to top of pie. And as Cookin'mama recommended, next time I would reduce the butter in the crust as it was a bit greasy. All in all, it was good. Very rich though; richer than what we are used to eating. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Susan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
So yummy - definitely a "treat" recipe though! I cut down on the fat and added to the cheesiness a little by using a pottle of low-fat cottage cheese instead of half n half; I whizzed it in the blender with the eggs and cheese to make a smooth custard. Excellent as a wedge served with crispy crunchy salad for a vegetarian meal, or with crisp bacon and salad for meat eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
Wow was this great! Not 'oniony' at all, although my 7 year old was still turned off by seeing them there. I followed the recipe the first time. The second time I added mushrooms and a small tomato. It passes my versatility test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Easy and very tasty. I would have liked the crust to be a little crispier. Maybe I'll try baking it for 10 minutes first the next time I make this. A great complement to burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Amazing! I used heavy cream instead of half and half because it is what i had on hand. Otherwise I did it exactly! It is so goooood! I am making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bad bad kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This was very good but I knew 1/4 cup of cheese would not be enough for our taste so I added 1/2 cup to the egg mixture and also used 1/2 cup on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States