Sweet Vidalia Onion Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2002
Very good recipe. In the future, I think I'll use crescent rolls as the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
I was a bit disappointed because it didn't turn out like the other onion pies I've had. I followed the directions exactly, except I used saltines instead of Ritz crackers because that's what I had. The crust was good, and a very soft texture, like bread! The onions tasted good, too, but I think it needed a lot more of the egg mixture to hold it all together. I would have added more, but didn't want it to overflow. I think it would be just as good without the cheese. I don't regret trying this one, but I'll keep looking for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2003
This makes a delicious & easy side dish and substitutions work well. I used a variety of left over crackers and a mix of swiss and asiago cheeses. I also added thyme but any of your favorite herbs would work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
Wow was this great! Not 'oniony' at all, although my 7 year old was still turned off by seeing them there. I followed the recipe the first time. The second time I added mushrooms and a small tomato. It passes my versatility test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
yummy! yummy! yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
This was yummy! The Vidalia's are in for the season here, thank goodness, and I love them. This recipe combines some of my favorite things with butter crackers, onions and cheese, mmm! I am going to be making this with some variations over the summer. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
Taste was good. I added much more cheese than it called.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: King Of Prussia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Not a vidalia onion season has gone by without being asked to make it several times. I am always asked for the recipe. I only use 4 Tablespoons of butter in the crust (saltines do not work, you must use Ritz type crackers). I use whole milk instead of half and half, but nonfat or lowfat milks don't cut it. Topped with about a cup of cheese, this pie is an awesome side for grilled meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Easy and very tasty. I would have liked the crust to be a little crispier. Maybe I'll try baking it for 10 minutes first the next time I make this. A great complement to burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States