Sweet Vidalia Onion Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Easy and very tasty. I would have liked the crust to be a little crispier. Maybe I'll try baking it for 10 minutes first the next time I make this. A great complement to burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Not a vidalia onion season has gone by without being asked to make it several times. I am always asked for the recipe. I only use 4 Tablespoons of butter in the crust (saltines do not work, you must use Ritz type crackers). I use whole milk instead of half and half, but nonfat or lowfat milks don't cut it. Topped with about a cup of cheese, this pie is an awesome side for grilled meats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
Taste was good. I added much more cheese than it called.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: King Of Prussia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
This was yummy! The Vidalia's are in for the season here, thank goodness, and I love them. This recipe combines some of my favorite things with butter crackers, onions and cheese, mmm! I am going to be making this with some variations over the summer. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
yummy! yummy! yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2003
Wow was this great! Not 'oniony' at all, although my 7 year old was still turned off by seeing them there. I followed the recipe the first time. The second time I added mushrooms and a small tomato. It passes my versatility test.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2003
This makes a delicious & easy side dish and substitutions work well. I used a variety of left over crackers and a mix of swiss and asiago cheeses. I also added thyme but any of your favorite herbs would work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
I was a bit disappointed because it didn't turn out like the other onion pies I've had. I followed the directions exactly, except I used saltines instead of Ritz crackers because that's what I had. The crust was good, and a very soft texture, like bread! The onions tasted good, too, but I think it needed a lot more of the egg mixture to hold it all together. I would have added more, but didn't want it to overflow. I think it would be just as good without the cheese. I don't regret trying this one, but I'll keep looking for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2002
Very good recipe. In the future, I think I'll use crescent rolls as the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States