Sweet Vidalia Onion Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
I have made this quiche and variations of it dozens of times, all of them delicious. You can throw in bacon, spinach, broccoli, anything you like and it always turns out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russellville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This was very good. I subbed swiss instead of cheddar. Its oily and gooey just like it should be...not a regular part of my diet, but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROOKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This has been one of my family's most requested recipes for years and one of the first things literally gobbled up at neighborhood functions. I've used parmeson cheese as well. This vegetable side dish never fails to please onion eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
Great Onion Pie. I didn't have half and half, so used buttermilk. Also took advice from comments and doubled cheese. I layered half the cheese on the crackers and half on top of the pie. Mary
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
this was so good. had looked at several recipes for onion pie but this one looked the best. I added a little bit of bell pepper and pimento. yummy. omg, so good.Oh and a lilltle extra cheese but not too much to over power it. The best new recipe I've gotten in quite a while. thank you so much for sharing this with us.Awesome. If you like onions, you have to try this one!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yaba
Living In: Ninety Six, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I made the onion filling and half-and-half/egg mixture as directed, but added a shot of Worcestershire Sauce and some paprika to the liquid and a lot of love to the preparation. I did not put it in a cracker crust, instead I layered the onions, and about a cup of swiss cheese in a casserole pan (I made three layers). Topped it with the crushed ritz crackers/ Turned out YUMMY and house smelled so good while it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
We all love this recipe. I have made it for the last 7 Christmases, once I got the recipe out of my mother-in-law : ) Hers was very specific stating 52 ritz crackers and if Vidalia Onions aren't in season, add sugar to the onions while sauteing them. I am a big fan of sweetening the onions, so do it even when the Vidalia onions are in season. I also make it 1-2 days ahead and just reheat the day of, to free oven space (the microwave even works...gasp!). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was so simple to do, and tasted so good. My son-in-law went gaga over this and not a real big onion fan. i added cheese to mixture. I also used less butter on the crust was not greasy at all. I have been requested to make a double batch for Thanksgiving. A real hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
So yummy - definitely a "treat" recipe though! I cut down on the fat and added to the cheesiness a little by using a pottle of low-fat cottage cheese instead of half n half; I whizzed it in the blender with the eggs and cheese to make a smooth custard. Excellent as a wedge served with crispy crunchy salad for a vegetarian meal, or with crisp bacon and salad for meat eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by belle
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
Very yummy, easy, and creative recipe. Even those who are not crazy about onions enjoyed it. This is delicious but it is obvious why- it is SOOO buttery. I had to double the crust to have enough. Definitely a special treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States