Sweet Vidalia Onion Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Loved this recipe - simple and very tasty. I used Town House Flatbread Crisps, Roasted Garlic which made it very flavorful! Tip: Spray some ccoking spray on the pie dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Very yummy, a great recipe that you can adapt in so many ways. My crust didn't get hard, so maybe next time I will bake it a little bit first before adding the pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERA1088

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Delicious and an instant hit with my family. I did add some chopped baby portobella mushrooms and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Sweet! Very good. Won over the skeptical husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Amazing! I used heavy cream instead of half and half because it is what i had on hand. Otherwise I did it exactly! It is so goooood! I am making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bad bad kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
My family loved this, I made it as the recipe called for except I used extra onions, so I added a little more of everything. I did add some fresh chives to the crust for some color, and they did add a little something to the flavor. I also did not have on hand Vidiala onions, so I put about a tsp. of sugar in while I was cooking my onions, as another reviewer had suggested. A great side anytime....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abingdon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
AMAZING, onion lovers prepare to be in heaven. Leftovers are delicious too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
A friend made this and I just had to have the recipe. It did not disappoint when I made it. I'm just sad that there were no left-overs. The only change I made was related to the cheese. I doubled the amount of cheese and mixed it in with the egg mixture. It wasn't necessarily on purpose, I just didn't read carefully enough, lol. It was fabulous if I haven't said that already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUASHBLOSSOMGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Very awesome! This is basically a very onion-y quiche, so I treated it to some of the more traditional quiche spices while throwing it together: a teeny bit of nutmeg for depth, and a smidge of paprika. I made a few other changes as well: I made a little extra crust and baked this in a jelly roll dish; switched out swiss cheese for the cheddar and used a little bit more onion than called for. This was a mild, flavorful dish with some very complex flavors. Awesome and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was really good. I used Club crackers for the crust and a locally made Bacon Cheddar for the cheese. Perhaps I didn't let it set for long enough (I waited 10 minutes) because it was a bit soft and flimsy getting out of the pan but it still tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States