Sweet Vidalia Onion Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Loved this recipe - simple and very tasty. I used Town House Flatbread Crisps, Roasted Garlic which made it very flavorful! Tip: Spray some ccoking spray on the pie dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Very yummy, a great recipe that you can adapt in so many ways. My crust didn't get hard, so maybe next time I will bake it a little bit first before adding the pie filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERA1088

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Delicious and an instant hit with my family. I did add some chopped baby portobella mushrooms and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndi Vernon Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Sweet! Very good. Won over the skeptical husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Amazing! I used heavy cream instead of half and half because it is what i had on hand. Otherwise I did it exactly! It is so goooood! I am making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bad bad kitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brattleboro, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
My family loved this, I made it as the recipe called for except I used extra onions, so I added a little more of everything. I did add some fresh chives to the crust for some color, and they did add a little something to the flavor. I also did not have on hand Vidiala onions, so I put about a tsp. of sugar in while I was cooking my onions, as another reviewer had suggested. A great side anytime....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abingdon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
AMAZING, onion lovers prepare to be in heaven. Leftovers are delicious too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
A friend made this and I just had to have the recipe. It did not disappoint when I made it. I'm just sad that there were no left-overs. The only change I made was related to the cheese. I doubled the amount of cheese and mixed it in with the egg mixture. It wasn't necessarily on purpose, I just didn't read carefully enough, lol. It was fabulous if I haven't said that already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUASHBLOSSOMGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
Very awesome! This is basically a very onion-y quiche, so I treated it to some of the more traditional quiche spices while throwing it together: a teeny bit of nutmeg for depth, and a smidge of paprika. I made a few other changes as well: I made a little extra crust and baked this in a jelly roll dish; switched out swiss cheese for the cheddar and used a little bit more onion than called for. This was a mild, flavorful dish with some very complex flavors. Awesome and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was really good. I used Club crackers for the crust and a locally made Bacon Cheddar for the cheese. Perhaps I didn't let it set for long enough (I waited 10 minutes) because it was a bit soft and flimsy getting out of the pan but it still tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Oven-Baked Onion Rings

See how to make crispy onion rings in the oven.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States