Sweet Tamarind Chutney Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I didn't get a chutney - it never thickened up. I have it 3 stars though because it tastes fantastic as an additive to iced tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
So good! Only step I would add, which is not really necessary but makes it more like most restaurants, is to strain the seeds out at the end. This is my favorite dip/sauce at the Indian restaurant we go to. I did let it cook on the stove for probably like two hours while I was making other food. Then when it was poured into a bowl I put it in the fridge until we wanted to eat it - ultimately was only room temperature at that time, though. As of this writing, it didn't thicken as much as maybe some people want it too? but it is exactly like what I eat in Indian restaurants, usually served with a small spoon to pour some onto a papadum. Spoon it onto something and mmm delicious. But, if you wanted to get that tamarind flavor on other kinds of food, where spooning is not so convenient, maybe do some of the usual tricks to thicken it a little more. It made just about spot on the amount it said it would, which is a LOT, glad to have extra though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, Florida, USA
Living In: Superior, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I read this recipe and was scared that it wont thicken as mentioned by other reviewers. It did happen! But I must say that patience is all you need. After cooking for 1 hr , hoping for it to thicken, I kept it in refrigerator. Unexpectedly, it thicken quite well, actually little more than needed. The final flavor is awesome. I served it with Pakoras, and all guests enjoyed it. They even thought I brought it from a store! Thats a compliment you're always looking for, right?! I did cook the spices long enough to let the flavor come out. Overall, super 5 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Omg this is so good, there really is no sub for tamarind paste. No need for the cornstarch like some ppl said. Made ths with samosas and will definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Delicious! It was a tad sweet for my husband. I added some apricots because I didn't have enough tamarind. I also blended everything at the end to mince the spices. Do you use whole or powdered spices? I used some whole and some powdered depending on what I had. I also had to thicken it with cornstarch as it didn't seem to want to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Really good! Like some others, I had to add a bit of flour to thicken it up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
good recipe but its very bitter...but there are not many recipes on here for this type of sauce that I can find. I would possibly recommend less tarmarind
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
This is really fantastic. It is our go to chutney!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
This was delicious, although I agree with some of the other reviews that it is a bit thin. I will use less than 2c. water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoriD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This chutney turned out delicious! Just like in a restaurant. I recommend using medium-low heat; the spices are very aromatic and really can be overwhelming on a higher heat. I found the 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper was a bit lost once the chutney was cooled and served. If you like spice, increase to 3/4 or 1 tsp. Instead of 1 1/8 cups white sugar, I used 1 cup jaggery and five pitted dates. I, too, used about a tsp of corn starch dissolved in a few tbsp of water to thicken the sauce, but the next day the chutney was more jelly-like than I'd have liked, so I recommend using 1/2 tsp of corn starch or omitting it altogether. I used onion powder instead of the asafoetida powder, and I omitted the fennel seeds because I don't care for fennel. I also found it would have benefited from a quick run through the hand blender as it was quite chunky and near the end was a little difficult to use as a sauce, and was more like a jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States