Sweet Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This is a good recipe! I used Jalpeno cornbread mix to kick it up a notch and it turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Wonderful! I had to make changes based on what my family will eat. I won't bore anyone with the substitutions, but had to keep the spiciness at a minimum, and I don't buy mixes, so I used my homemade buttermilk cornbread recipe. All three generations loved it! Thanks for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by radergirl1
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I got a bag of frozen seasoned corn with red peppers and decided to make tamale pie. I used homemade salsa and omitted the peppers. very good. I was confused because the directions say to put all the corn in the meat, then all the corn in the bread. I layered the corn between the meat and bread. but I think any way would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Well, today's the last day before I break down my kitchen & pack it for my move to Chesapeake Beach, Md. Having lived in Arizona for the last 6 years, what a culture shock THAT will be !!! So, I looked at my poor dwindled cupboards & said hmmm, I wonder what I can scrounge up. Small amount of taco seasoning - A/R recipe, salsa & canned chillies, corn, olives, corn meal, pkg. bread sticks, can of tuna, some grated Cheddar, spices, an onion, and a few others that said "childhood favorite - Tamale Pie!!! A/R recipe says "Sweet Tamale pie" & I was in business!!! SO, here I sit, replete, (I can't believe I ate the whole thing!), having enjoyed the INCREDIBLE dinner this was!! The recipe didn't call for olives, like my Mother used to do, & since they weren't on the recipe, I didn't add them in. Next time I will, but when I intend to review a recipe, I try to be a purist the first go around. However, if they weren't a "part of the memory" addition, I wouldn't bother! Very few times in my experience, is a recipe exactly like I love it, & totally without need for changes, but THIS one IS!!! VERY nice work "bcummings221"!!!!!! And, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Tabitha & me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
My family loved this. You could add things to this if you wanted, but it's good as written. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made this last night for New Year's Eve and it is delicious. After reading all the great reviews I decided to give it a try. It is going to be my go to recipe for pot lucks from now on. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I made this using a can of Rotel mild tomatoes, one jar of my homemade salsa, a can of corn and a couple of tablespoons of my taco seasoning mix. I used some green onions in the cornbread topping and no cheese. I thought it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
A very good fast and easy supper. Thanks. Try it you will like it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Got to try this from the original cook! It was fantastic! It's going to be my potluck choice from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Fantastic! I took a a chance on this recipe because it was not widely rated, but the result is very flavorful and appealing to a crowd. I did replace the hot salsa with chopped chipotle peppers in adobo sauce because I like the deep flavor it gives beef recipes. And my tomato and corn products were not "Mexican" flavored, just tomatoes and corn. As always in our family, I used for the beef: elk, venison, or extra lean free range beef. I doubled the recipe and froze one (cooked) for later, but I didn't entirely double the cornbread portion so the meat to bread ratio was more to our liking. This is my first tamale pie attempt and this will be my recipe for the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States