Sweet Tamale Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Love the taste of this tamale pie! Best one yet. It's a keeper! However, I found it took much longer than 15 min. to pull it together. Chopping, adding multiple ingredients, and making the cornbread topping were quite a few steps. Worth it for end result, but wouldn't call it quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2015
This went over big at a potluck. It was easy to make and I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan Levy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This is a good recipe! I used Jalpeno cornbread mix to kick it up a notch and it turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Wonderful! I had to make changes based on what my family will eat. I won't bore anyone with the substitutions, but had to keep the spiciness at a minimum, and I don't buy mixes, so I used my homemade buttermilk cornbread recipe. All three generations loved it! Thanks for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by radergirl1
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
I got a bag of frozen seasoned corn with red peppers and decided to make tamale pie. I used homemade salsa and omitted the peppers. very good. I was confused because the directions say to put all the corn in the meat, then all the corn in the bread. I layered the corn between the meat and bread. but I think any way would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Well, today's the last day before I break down my kitchen & pack it for my move to Chesapeake Beach, Md. Having lived in Arizona for the last 6 years, what a culture shock THAT will be !!! So, I looked at my poor dwindled cupboards & said hmmm, I wonder what I can scrounge up. Small amount of taco seasoning - A/R recipe, salsa & canned chillies, corn, olives, corn meal, pkg. bread sticks, can of tuna, some grated Cheddar, spices, an onion, and a few others that said "childhood favorite - Tamale Pie!!! A/R recipe says "Sweet Tamale pie" & I was in business!!! SO, here I sit, replete, (I can't believe I ate the whole thing!), having enjoyed the INCREDIBLE dinner this was!! The recipe didn't call for olives, like my Mother used to do, & since they weren't on the recipe, I didn't add them in. Next time I will, but when I intend to review a recipe, I try to be a purist the first go around. However, if they weren't a "part of the memory" addition, I wouldn't bother! Very few times in my experience, is a recipe exactly like I love it, & totally without need for changes, but THIS one IS!!! VERY nice work "bcummings221"!!!!!! And, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Tabitha & me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chesapeake Beach, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
My family loved this. You could add things to this if you wanted, but it's good as written. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made this last night for New Year's Eve and it is delicious. After reading all the great reviews I decided to give it a try. It is going to be my go to recipe for pot lucks from now on. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I made this using a can of Rotel mild tomatoes, one jar of my homemade salsa, a can of corn and a couple of tablespoons of my taco seasoning mix. I used some green onions in the cornbread topping and no cheese. I thought it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Cunningham Ballard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
A very good fast and easy supper. Thanks. Try it you will like it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Sweet Potato Pie I

This is a satisfying Southern dessert that's perfect in fall and winter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States