Sweet Sweet Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This is the second year may DIL has made this and it sure beats the old marshmallow topping. Delicious, moist and a real keeper. A bit too sweet for us diabetics but a very small serving is worth it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Kenagy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worthington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I've made this recipe for the past three years to rave reviews and hardly any leftovers. I use 3 drained cans of sweet potatoes which I puree in the Cuisinart. Then I use the mixer to thoroughly incorporate the rest of the ingredients ~ I follow the rest of the directions as listed. We live on The Big Island of Hawaii and love this soufflé like dish topped with the pecans & coconut ~ YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Made this and one other sweet potato casserole and this one was gone very early. Everyone loved it. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
when i saw this recipe i thought it looked great, and turns out it was! i made a few alterations, (butter x 1.5), (milk x 1.5), added around 100ml of whipping cream! I replaced the pecans with walnuts, personal preference, only put them on one side, but the coconut all over and 5 minutes before the end i removed from the oven and put on (0.5 x weight of nuts) in marshmellow on the side not already covered by nuts! Tasted and looked great! Thanks for a great meal idea!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JohnnyBoy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Love it! But didn't want to use the flaked coconut (kids won't eat it). So, I substituted coconut milk for whole milk and put in a generous splash of orange juice to make sure it wasn't dry. It was great! Wonderful coconut flavor and very moist and delicious. Have done with and without nuts and have added marshmallows. All are good, just depends on your taste. Enjoy! Also goes great with Caribbean Jerk spiced pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
We loved this casserole, I did however make one change that made all the difference, and that was to add cinniman and a dash of allspice. The coconut and pecan addded just the right amount of crunch and sweetness. This will be on my table for sure at holiday time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This is really easy with a large can of sweet potatoes. Normally, I would say those are gross and I am a BIG FAN of baked sweet potatoes, but if it's holiday time, that would be a time saver. Also, I omitted the flour, and reduced butter to a simple pat and it was still great. Left the topping off my serving and put the yummy stuff on the rest of the family's. (I'm watching my calorie intake. Sweet potato and egg is not sinful at all and it was still YUMMY.) Cheap, simple, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by **zuzu**

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arkansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Moore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
LOVED IT! This was so much better than that typical marshmallow and over sugared sweet potato dish that is usually on the table for Thanksgiving. It was sweet, but not too sweet and the coconut added a little extra....well, FUN. LOVED IT and just might make it even if it's NOT Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
coconut is great with the sweet potatoes! yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I served this with our Christmas dinner this year and people really responded to it. It looks great too with it's toasted coconut and pecan topping. For now this has taken over the sweet potato spot for future Holidays. So why the 4 stars? Well, I would have rated 4.5 if I had the option. I just felt the recipe was so close to perfect yet was missing a few notes. Once I had the mixture in the pan and before I added the toppings I added fresh ground cinnamon to the dish. Perhaps around a Tbsp. I think this made a big difference to what I could have ended up with. Even with the cinnamon I felt it was missing a vanilla note and perhaps something providing a touch of creaminess to the base. Maybe a touch of cream would have been all it needed. I am certainly looking forward to tuning this recipe to my personal taste. This one is a keeper! Much better than the traditional marshmallow topped variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aaron Gregory Russo

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

How to Fix Burnt Sweet Potato Casserole

Topping burn on your sweet potato casserole? We’ve got just the fix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States