Sweet Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
Excellent excellent excellent! This was my first turkey ever and I cooked for 20 people a 26 ponud bird...! I double the recipe and it was fabulous! Everyone raved at how good it and the stuffing was. I was affraid it might be too sweet but not at all! Also, Iwas worried that the cinnamon in the raisin bread might be too much, but again It was great. Even my guests who don't like raisins loved this stuffing, so don't be affraid to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
I have made this stuffing every year for the past three years for our office thanksgiving dinner. I am now expected to make it because it is so well liked by the staff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Every year for Christmas I make this stuffing. People in my family who don't like stuffing eat this great dish. Very good indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This got rave reviews at my Thanksgiving table. I normally hate stuffing but I LOVED this. It is almost like a dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Excellent stuffing! I have used fresh and dried cranberries- both work well. I have made it for a few years, and people always request it and rave about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Thanks for the posted comments - they were very helpful. Not one morsel of this side item was left in the casserole dish when I made it Thanksgiving Day and several dinner guests complimented me on its flavor. Here's how I amended the recipe: only 1 cup of diced onion, 1/4 cup of butter, 3/4 cup dried cranberries, about 8 slices of cinnamon raisin bread (cubed and toasted), and about 6 slices of whole-wheat bread (cubed and toasted). Everything else was the same. I baked it separately from my lemon and rosemary stuffed turkey and it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I adjusted according to what I had. I used 1 c diced onions and 1 c diced celery, used 1 1/4 c dried cranberries and added a little dried savoury, I did not have raisin bread so used a mix of sour dough and calabrese and a couple of dashes of cinnamon. I like traditional stuffing but wanted a change and this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I read the reviews but decided to go ahead and pretty much follow the way this recipe is written. The only deviations I made were to use 1/4 cup butter and chicken broth (it's what I had in the fridge) rather than vegetable. Honestly, I tasted it before putting the dish into the oven, and I had major concerns that it was going to be too sweet. However, the tartness of the cranberries (I have a couple bags frozen) balances out the sweetness perfectly IMO. Just a couple comments. If you have access to "ground rosemary," I'd recommend you use it. My husband said the rosemary tasted a little like "sticks." Also, I will cut the chopped onion and cranberries back to about a cup each in the future. Many people only make stuffing for Holidays, but it's a nice side dish any time of year, even during the dog days of August. Thanks, Ibby, we enjoyed your stuffing served with pork chops, and probably will make it again for Thanksgiving adding some sausage and maybe a little chopped celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I made this stuffing for Thanksgiving and received good reviews from my guests. It is a delicious stuffing but I think next time I will cut the raisin bread in half with pumpernickel for a little less sweet. The recipe is easy, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Great...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Old-Fashioned Cracker Stuffing

See how to make an old-fashioned dressing or stuffing with saltine crackers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States