Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
fantastic...quick,easy,and so tasty, best that I have ever served or eaten in a restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
A quick, simple and delicious meal. The flavors of the ingredients really blend well together. Though the dish has a little bit of a kick to it, I could stand it slightly more spicy, so I may add a little extra hot sauce next time (I used Frank's Buffalo Wing sauce). Also, I used ground ginger instead of fresh ginger root, which I'm sure would have made the dish even better. As a previous reviewer said, there will be entirely too much sauce if you double the recipe, however, if you're the kind of person who enjoys a little extra sauce, you may want to make another half a serving, which also goes great over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Have you ever had lettuce wraps from PF Chnag's??? This is it! I had everything already in my kitchen so I made two batches of the sauce then I used about half to 'season' some ground chicken. I made it like you would taco meat then wrapped it in lettuce. It was perfect!!! This was AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsTNM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This reciep is good for a quick and simple to make dinner. This turned out great. YUM YUM :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This was GREAT!!! I made it last night and my fiancee & I both loved it. I used ground ginger instead of the root, and used 3 Tbs. of hot sauce. Also, I used whole chicken breasts that I pre-grilled in my George Foreman then finished cooking in the sauce. I served it with teriyaki noodles and sugar snap peas and it was like something you'd order at an expensive restaurant. Will definitely be making this often and passing the recipe around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
Zippy and different. The first time I made it I did add some cornstarch because the sauce wasn't thickening on its own. But the second time I made it the sauce thickened just fine without the cornstarch. This sauce also works great with pork. Oh, and I used reduced sodium soy sauce. Update: added some grated orange peel for a little different flavor this time, and it was fabulous! 2nd update: I have made this many times now and have yet to figure out why sometime the sauce thickens up just fine, in close to the amount of time stated, but other times it won't thicken on its own. I always use the same pan and burner, so it just mystifies me. I have made this with grated, chopped, and ground ginger, and have decided that grated works best. I usually double the sauce and add chopped fresh brocolli or some stir fry veggies that cooked seperately at the very end, stir just to coat and serve over rice or Thai noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYSLEW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This dish was very easy to make and it tasted wonderful. The flavors came together really well. I paired it with jasmine rice and an oriental veggie blend. My husband enjoyed it as well. It's one of our new favorite dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelli S.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chinook, Montana, USA
Living In: Havre, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Excellent!! One of the best things about this recipe is that I typically have all the ingredients on hand, so it's a great go-to recipe when I have to put dinner together at the last minute. I substituted ground ginger and a few drops of chili oil and it was plenty spicy without being over the top (we have a toddler at the table, so it can't be TOO spicy). While the chicken was simmering, I put together a Chinese Napa Cabbage Salad and the sauce had thickened perfectly by the time I finished the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I absolutely loved this dish! It was like eating at my favorite Asian restaurant. The only change I will make next time is to back the hot sauce down to 1 tablespoon. I used Louisiana and found it to be too spicy and I love spicy food. I have already shared this recipe with friends. Thanks, Kate, for a super recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Maenpa-Pavey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Easy and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,066) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States