Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Dragon1104
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Good a bit dry but a good choice for quick and yummy dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This was delicious. I breaded the chicken in whole wheat flower and a dash of salt and pepper. Next, I pan fried it in about 2 tablespoons of coconut oil. After that, I doubled the sauce and simmered the chicken in it until done. I sprinkled sesame seeds on the chicken. The hot sauce I used was the one in the cylindrical jar with the red top and the rooster on it. Not sriracha. More like a chili paste. It was spicy--too spicy for our kids, but fine for us. I used only 2 teaspoons of this hot sauce. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I followed the recipe exactly as stated. Just the right amount of sweet and spicy. Received rave reviews from the fam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I followed the advice of others and coasted the chicken with flour. I browned the chicken and admittingly did not measure anything. I left out the ginger root as I didn't have any and I used August in Austin hot sauce. The stickyness was great as well as the heat. Served over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This recipe needs a little work. I think it would have greatly benefited from some fresh flavor and maybe an acid to overcome the soy flavor. Next time I might add cilantro or a touch of rice wine vinegar. I breaded the chicken like others suggested, but crowded the pan because I am impatient and hate to do things in batches. I do think it would have been better with a crispier exterior on the chicken. Overall, a very simple recipe with ingredients I almost always have on hand. Very versatile, I added broccoli, sliced garlic, and water chestnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
First recipe i'd ever try online and wow i really love this recipe Taste really good Try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I have attempted other Asian inspired dishes, but with no success....until this recipe. I took the advice of other reviewers and put sauce in a small pan to reduce, as it takes a good 10-12 minutes to reduce. I didn't have hot sauce so I improvised with chili powder to give it a little spice. Also, chopped yellow pepper and sweet onion and sautéed in oil for 3-4 minutes before removing and adding chicken (placed in bag with flour to coat first). Having the oil heated on high helped with searing the chicken. You may need to add another tblsp of oil after removing veggies. After chicken was cooked through, I added sauce and vegetables to combine flavors. Brown rice from TJ's was a perfect match to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This was very good. It reminded me of the Korean dish my mom made growing up. I only had 1 piece of the boneless, skinless chicken at home. I didn't reduce much of the ingredients except for the soy sauce, and it turned out really good. It wasn't sticky at all, which I don't mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Was delicious, added a large spoon of apple sauce instead of sugar so it wasn't overly sickly and it cut through the sweetness. Served it with my homemade egg fried rice. Overall, a good meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nilufereidouni
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 2,047) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States