Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I love this recipe. So easy to whip up after work and wonderful complex flavor. I usually have all the ingredients on hand, and it has quickly become a staple in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Made tonight finally. I had attempted a few nights ago, but the dog ate all of the raw chicken when I left the room for a minute!! I had simmered the sauce for about 8-10 minutes as others had suggested. Tonight, however, I just went straight to cooking the chicken and poured the previously simmered sauce on it. I left everything else the same. This was just ok, and will not likely make again. I have other chicken recipes (like the Kung Pao recipe from this site) that we like better. We did add some peanuts to our individual servings after it was cooked as it seemed like it needed something. Broccoli would have probably been good mixed in too. Also, the smell was a bit overwhelming, but the taste was better than the smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
The sauce didn't thicken, but the flavor was great, and after making it, I can see how easy it would be to customize it, or even use this sauce in other dishes, like stirfry veggies. Really quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
This was the best chicken recipe EVER ! I Even messed up a lot making it and it was so good that I ate it right out of the pan! Whoever said Sairacha sauce to be included was right! Awesome sauce! I'll be eating this along time! I Made it with fried rice but you really don't need to and I added the sautéed vegetables. Too good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Barnett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
The recipe was delicious! I usually make recipes "as is" before making any changes, but based on other reviews, I wanted to make sure my meal was "STICKY" so I thinly sliced the chicken in long strips and then coated them in CORN STARCH (3-4 tbs) by tossing them in a bowl. I just think corn starch is a better thickening agent than flour. Also, for a meal like this I think SRIRACHA (rooster sauce) is the only way to go! However, a little goes a long way and I added too much, so I ended up doubling the sauce with low sodium soy sauce, but I'm glad I did!!! I don't think the original amount would be enough to coat chicken/leave enough to coat whatever you're serving it on top of/with. I served over rice with some broccoli and it was DELICIOUS! We will be eating this again, and again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Yumm! I used 1 tablespoon hot sauce and coated chicken with flour before cooking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Excellent flavors. Made it exactly as directed. Sauce didn't thicken so may add some flour to get it going.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hamish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This either deserves more than 5 stars, or I need to go back to other recipes and only give them 4! I've made this twice in the past week which is something I just don't do! It's the absolute perfect blend of flavors without being "bad" for you. It tastes like a restaurant dish. I've been making with 20 oz chicken thigh meat and sprinkling a small amt of flour like others suggested - not sure if it's necessary, but I did it both times I made it. I don't like having a garlic after-taste, so I've only used 1 tsp, and I've omitted salt, pepper, and oil. My first go was too salty tasting and I identified our soy sauce as the culprit - I recommend using a low sodium version and it will be much better (ours was). My next way to make this will be to add some orange zest to the sauce for an orange chicken. We had over rice & stir-fry veggies. AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Followed this recipe,except that I used sriracha hot sauce + added some red pepper flakes,cause I love how it neutralizes the sweetness of the sauce. Also, I lightly used a flour/ cornstarch dust on my chicken,which was seasoned with a rub (spicy chicken recipe from allrecipes). Made stir fried vegs(almost anything you already have) + steamed rice= everyone LOVED it! Definitely a keeper...p.s. I work in the food industry+ was a baker for 20 yrs....it's a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 2,192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States