Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
I substituted hoisin sauce for the hot sauce since I can't eat that, and gave my husband some crushed red pepper flakes to sprinkle on his food so he was happy with it. I added some chopped scallions to the sauce. Before cooking, I dredged the chicken in corn starch. The sauce was very thick and I had to add a little water during simmering. It came out great. Next time I would prefer low sodium soy sauce in this recipe, and I would double the sauce and add broccoli or other vegetables. Hubby loved it. Tasted like Chinese take out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kobe, Hyogo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2015
Great recipe! I usually flour the chicken then cook for 5 mins on high. Then I add onions, sauté until golden then add green peppers and continue with recipe...fav dish on this website!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
My family and I loved this. I added carrots to mine when simmering and covered it, carrots remained crisp and chicken stayed moist. will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
I really like this recipe, but it just needs a little something more to be a 5-star recipe to my taste buds. I would prefer it a touch sweeter and a touch less soy saucy. My husband loves the recipe, but thinks it could use a little more ginger. I think it has enough. To each their own, I guess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetpea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
YUMMY! I did dredge the chicken strips in flour first but otherwise followed the recipe. I used one of the Uncle Ben's packets of already cooked brown rice for the base of this dinner, and it was perfect to soak up some of the heat from the Sriracha that was pretty hot for my husband. I would think that the grated fresh ginger makes the dish, so I highly recommend that you have some in your freezer ready to grate when you decide on this meal! Next time I may make a little more of the sauce! This will be added to our easy quick mealtime dinners! Thanks, Katemartino!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2015
My family loves this recipe! We are vegan so I make it with cubed seitan and it is delicious. I double the sauce though because we like a lot of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
After reading reviews, made with these changes- dredge chicken in flour first, increase heat of skillet, left out ginger, heat sauce before adding to chicken, substitute red pepper flakes for hot sauce. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Fantastic. We cut the hot sauce a little bit, since most of the family anti-spice. Otherwise, I dredged in flour and made per the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
Very tasty! My DH and I thought it tasted just like PF Chang's. For the most part we make this as is, though we do dredge the chicken in cornstarch or flour and fry the chicken before adding the sauce. This helps give the chicken that "Chinese takeout" crunch and helps thicken the sauce. And like in the editor's note, we add onion and broccoli. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
Easy great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 2,259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States