Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
This recipe is a keeper! Delicious with just the right mixture of sweet and heat. Some reviewers had problems getting the sauce to thicken and found the soy sauce too salty and over-powering. I dealt with this by using reduced sodium soy sauce and by boiling the sauce separately from the chicken, adding a teaspoon of corn starch (mixed in cold water). It thickened very nicely and was just the right level of saltiness. I browned the chicken in sesame oil while the sauce cooked and added the sauce to the chicken at the end...Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This is a great recipe. Thank you everyone for there awesome reviews! Made it really easy to make changes if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SuperFoody
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
The sauce itself is delicious! I doubled or tripled it. I also cut my chicken into medium sized cubes, dipped it into batter and Fried it. Served it over rice with lots of sauce and some green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hazeleyes8503
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Yum! I seasoned the flour with salt and pepper, then coated cubed chicken (I didn't cut mine into strips). Then cut up an onion, sauteed it in the oil, and added the chicken. I added freshly cut strips of carrots, chopped broccoli, and a stripped red bell pepper. I added half a can of pineapple juice and chopped pineapple, and the sauce it calls for, then let everything simmer. Next time I'll add mushrooms and cashews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazeleyes8503

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Used corn starch with chicken to make it crisper. Super yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
Had I not made some minor changes to this recipe it would have been far to spicy and I don't think the sauce would have thickened as nicely as it did. Overall this was a great base recipe and my chicken came out fantastic. 2 tbsp. of hot sauce is FAR too much. I'm not sure if it was because I was using Hot "Pepper" Sauce, but thank god I added the honey before the hot sauce because I ended up tilting the bowl to the sink and letting pretty much all of the hot sauce roll off the honey and into the sink because it was just too much hot sauce. I would recommend no more than half a tbsp. if you like it more on the spicy side and add some red pepper flakes while cooking it, which is what I did. I also dredged the chicken lightly in flour beforehand and while it was cooking with the sauce, I cut the chicken into bite sized chunks. The final result was a nice balance of spicy and sweet, and the perfect consistency teriyaki sauce. It was slightly sticky and thick enough to stay coated on the chicken but not so thick that it clumped into a thick gel. I was very pleased with this recipe overall and would recommend using the sauce while cooking some stir fry veggies on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
This was an awesome recepie. I modified it a little based on what I had. I didn't use ginger root, I used teriyaki instead of soy, and I used saracha as the hot sauce as others had suggested. I also sauteed onions and green pepper in garlic before cooking the chicken in it. I had no problem with the sauce thickening, but I also doubled the ammount of sauce so there was a little to put on the rice as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
So I tried this and I must say it was, is delicious ! The whole family enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by India Eley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I didn't think I'd be all that fond of this but I was looking for a new recipe so I tried it. It was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,091) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States