Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Wonderful. I did as several suggested and put the chicken in a bit of flour before frying. Nice and crispy. I also added 1 tbsp. of siracha instead of hot sauce and doubled the sauce recipe. It was the perfect amount of spice and sweet. Will be making this again. Thanks for sharing this great recipe! AAA+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Milligan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uccle, Brussels, Belgium
Living In: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Great recipe. I dipped chicken pieces into flour. I also added chunks of onion and pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Tried this recipe and everyone loved the flavor. I did try putting the chicken strips in flour like some people suggested; however, when I browned the strips in the pan, the flour came off and it all became a gunky mess. Looked gross, although it still tasted great. I think it's probably because I was trying to brown too much chicken in a small pan. I added some sauteed onions and orange juice to the sauce, partially because it didn't seem like very much sauce, still hardly wet the amount of chicken I had, 3 1/2 large breasts. But again, flavor was A+. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
The taste was great. I could have added a bit more honey but it came out deiclious. Didn't add much hot sauce since my boyfriend isn't the spicy type, but just enough to give it a little kick. It is sticky enough, I did add some xanthan gum to make it a bit more thick (the sauce). After it was all cooked, I added sliced apples in the pan and then some seeds to give it a more Asian flare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Good flavor. Not sticky. I would double the sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This is good. I doubled the sauce recipe, added cornstarch to thicken. I used shrimp instead of chicken, served of fried rice...yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alessandro Zotta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I make the sauce and let it simmer till somewhat thick. For the chicken chunks make a batter of 1c. cornstarch, 1/4c. soy sauce and 2 eggs...mixture will be thick, dip chicken in and fry till brown and crispy. After finding this batter this is all I ever use for my Chinese recipes. I serve several chicken chunks over rice and pour the sauce over everything. Out of this world!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pratt, Kansas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
This is a delicious recipe, i adjusted the sauce so I could mix it w/rice. I also added some chinese 5 spice, & i use cholula as my hot sauce for it. :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This was the perfect recipe for me. Easy to do, simple ingredients and worked perfectly, first time, every time. I halved the hot sauce, garlic and ginger, and it was just right for my family. The sauce thickens up if you let it simmer long enough - longer than specified. Makes enough sauce for the meat but if you want to pour it over rice, double the recipe. This was the first Chinese recipe with which I could produce results remotely like what you get at a Chinese restaurant. And the sauce is perfect for stir-fried veggies as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,010) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States