Sweet Spicy Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
Believe this is one of the best wings sauces I have eaten. Quick and easy to prepare, we did ours on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
I followed the recipe exactly and also pre-marinated the wings for 3 hours. I loved the recipe, but I found that marinating causes the BBQ to flare up from the butter. Next time I will not marinade and make the sauce just before the wings are done (slighlty melting the butter in the microwave first). Rather than simmering the sauce, just use as is and it will coat the wings better. The simmering thins the sauce too much and is an unnecessary step. And if you make the sauce too early the butter will harden. However, the flavor was awesome and we will definately make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
I love hot wings and the honey added a nice twist. I seasoned the wings with the garlic salt and black pepper then baked them (uncovered). I combined the other ingredients, simmered the sauce for a few minutes, then poured it over the wings when they were done and a little crispy. They were great! If you're heat-sensitive, go easy on the cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
I was fixing a quick snack item for the basketball game and had some boneless hot wings that I got from Costco and just needed a sauce to go over it. I chose this one and it was FANTASTIC! I have to tell you though, if you do plan to use any prepared buffalo wing and use this sauce over it, be prepared to watch sweat run down everyones face. If I had thought about it, I would have omitted the cayenne pepper as the prepared boneless buffalo wings already had the heat in them and to top it with this great sauce-well, lets just say we wouldn't give it to the kids! I had a great time watching the husband sweat buckets-all the while he couldn't stop eating them. This is a great recipe, despite MY mistake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2000
Just slightly different from my regular hot wings recipe. The kids like it better, and it's a nice change for my husband and I. Great flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2000
I have been trying to find a new flavor for hot wings, and boy did I find one! My husband raved about them. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
I'm not a chicken wing fan, but my husband and his sports fantatic buddies love them. So, I put these wings on the grill, drenched them in the sauce, and served them. When they were done with the wings, they didn't even want to throw the leftover sauce away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
This recipe is great, while I like regular Buffalo wings I feel like they are lacking something, now I realize that the sweetness of this sauce is what has been missing all along.Since I don't have a grill I baked my wings and then charred them a little under the broiler. They were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2002
This is a winner. There is an addictive quality to this recipe. Can't stop eating them! The combination of sweet honey and spicey louisiana sauce is perfect! I recommend grilling the chicken over a flame for the charbroil (added) flavor. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
my husband and i loved these. first time ever making chicken wings. he's not a big fan of sweet and sour, so these were perfect. Followed some of the previous advice, and we gobbled 'em down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy PBJ Wings

Watch Chef John make sweet-and-spicy chicken wings with PBJ!

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States