Sweet Spicy Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
I baked my wings until they were done and after coating with the sauce, I put them back in the oven and put them under the broiler to make the sauce stick and they were outstanding! I will be making these again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Harrah, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2003
I followed the recipe exactly and also pre-marinated the wings for 3 hours. I loved the recipe, but I found that marinating causes the BBQ to flare up from the butter. Next time I will not marinade and make the sauce just before the wings are done (slighlty melting the butter in the microwave first). Rather than simmering the sauce, just use as is and it will coat the wings better. The simmering thins the sauce too much and is an unnecessary step. And if you make the sauce too early the butter will harden. However, the flavor was awesome and we will definately make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
This recipe is great, while I like regular Buffalo wings I feel like they are lacking something, now I realize that the sweetness of this sauce is what has been missing all along.Since I don't have a grill I baked my wings and then charred them a little under the broiler. They were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Very good, but suggest using a little less butter (was fine but didn't seem necessary). Also baked wings instead of grilling. Used this method: marinated wings in half of mixture for at least 1 hour (did mine overnight). Placed wing on baking sheet and baked 40 minutes at 350 degrees. Removed, then added rest of sauce and turned up oven to 375-400 degrees for another 7-10 minutes (for sauce to stick). Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
For optimum flavor, I believe these wings should be marinated overnight in half of the sauce mix. Also, don’t be afraid to use the entire teaspoon of cayenne pepper. When I added the honey, the spicy heat from the hot sauce was greatly reduced. My husband grilled the wings over mesquite briquettes. Our leftovers seem to get more flavorful each day. When shared, they were a definite hit with his employees at work! Thanks Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2005
This is the best recipe I have found for chicken wings. I've been making these wings for several months now and each time I make them I get tons of compliments and requests for the recipe. I never have leftovers. I don't recommend marinating them in the sauce beforehand because the butter causes the wings to flare up on the grill, thus over-charring them. I found the sauce can serve at least 9 pounds of chicken wings. If you use the recommended 6 pounds, you will have plenty of sauce left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
Believe this is one of the best wings sauces I have eaten. Quick and easy to prepare, we did ours on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
I'm not a chicken wing fan, but my husband and his sports fantatic buddies love them. So, I put these wings on the grill, drenched them in the sauce, and served them. When they were done with the wings, they didn't even want to throw the leftover sauce away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2002
This is a winner. There is an addictive quality to this recipe. Can't stop eating them! The combination of sweet honey and spicey louisiana sauce is perfect! I recommend grilling the chicken over a flame for the charbroil (added) flavor. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Had to make a dish for New Years and even though I love hot wings I've never made them. This recipe made a great batch of wings, which weren't too hot for all to enjoy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy PBJ Wings

Watch Chef John make sweet-and-spicy chicken wings with PBJ!

Sweet and Hot Mustard Wings

Sweet and hot mustards make these a tasty alternative to regular wings.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States