Sweet Spicy Pumpkin Seeds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Soifua
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
I was disappointed with this recipe, maybe it was user error. The oil and sugar separated despite having stirred it contantly to combine and not burn the sugar, so instead of pouring the separated mess over the seeds I grabbed a paper towel and soaked up the unwanted oil and poured the rest over the seeds. I think it needs salt and the chili powder is so miniscule it's not spicy at all, either the amount of chili powder needs to be increased or use cayenne pepper instead of chili powder (if I make this again I think I'd rather use cayenne). Overall it was fun to try something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soifua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kahuku, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I had the same problem with the suger beging to seperate but i found out if i kept stirring and cooked a little bit longer that it did dislove but this was a fun recipe to try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I added 1/2 teaspoon of salt into the spice mix, and these came out great. The spice isn't too strong for me, but enough to be a nice change from plain salted pumpkin seeds. With the salt added, it's a nice balance of sweet, salty, and spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I made these for my daughter/hubby while up in Portland on Halloween. Everyone loved them! But I mistakenly didn't pour the seeds into a bowl prior to adding the "sweet & spice". I kept them on a cookie and the mixture only stuck to a small portion of the seeds. Next time I'll put them in a bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I also had problems with the sugar and oil separating. I used white pepper instead of chili or cayenne and it was sufficiently spicy. The spices didn't stick as well as I had hoped, but I did get a good mix of sweet and spicy on the ones the spices did stick to. I think I will try increasing the oil next time. It was delicious, just needs some tinkering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nikeathena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I LOVED this recipe!!! I've tried a few for pumpkin seeds, this is hands down the best. Every friend & family member who tried it said it was incredible. I did, however, use a LOT more of the seasonings than it called for-I used tons of seeds and made the mxiture double of the powder. It is really good, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This was a good recipe, although I used butter instead of "oil" and you have to be a little patient when melting sugar as to not burn it. I also added more chili powder and a little salt and these came out nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Awesome, the best pumpkin seeds I've ever made or eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Same problem as the other reviewers: my oil and sugar mix separated. I just poured all of it over the pumpkin seeds, but was disappointed with how the sugar (now caramel) made clumps of some of the seeds and didn't seem to coat most of the others. I think the problem was that my seeds had cooled so this recipe should note that the seeds have to be hot or warm, probably straight out of the oven, to stop the caramel from clumping when poured on them. Also, the seeds didn't seem very spicy with the chili powder so I added cayenne to the batch to make it a little hotter (per another reviewer's suggestion). Overall, this recipe has potential, but is woefully incomplete or incorrect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
this was an awesome recipe. I did make a few small changes. before i roasted the seeds i added a little garlic pepper and garlic powder. hearing others having problems with the oil i used margarine and had no problem. Others wise great flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Roast Pumpkin Seeds

See the three simple steps to roasting pumpkin seeds.

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

See how to turn fresh pumpkin seeds into delicious, crunchy, good-for-you snacks.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States